The University of Massachusetts Amherst
Alumni & Giving

College of Nursing Giving Designations

College of Nursing

College of Nursing Clinical Simulation Laboratory

College of Nursing Study Abroad Scholarships

College of Nursing Student Emergency Fund


College of Nursing Scholarships:

Nancy S. Anton Scholarship

This scholarship was established to honor the memory of Nancy S. Anton, by recognizing an outstanding achievement by an undergraduate student who is completing his or her junior year of the Nursing Major.

Theodore S. Bacon, M.D. (M.A.C. 1894) Scholarship

This was established by Theodore S. Bacon, Jr., a former UMass Amherst faculty member, in memory of his father, Theodore S. Bacon, M.D., a graduate of the Massachusetts Agriculture College in 1894 and the Harvard Medical School in 1898, and recognizes his service to people and contributions to the field of medicine throughout his career. The purpose of this fund is to support scholarships for nursing students in need of financial aid who are in their junior or senior years.

Kathleen Horan Berman Nursing Scholarship

This scholarship fund is a tribute to the late Kathleen Berman. This scholarship is for students pursuing undergraduate degrees and recipients will be chosen based on financial need with priority to students who broaden the College’s racial and ethnic diversity.

Angie L. Brown Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship recognizes outstanding achievement by a junior or senior in the undergraduate programs or a graduate student who is completing a nursing degree.

The Cancellieri Family Scholarship

This scholarship was established by alum Joseph Cancellieri to provide financial assistance to support a nursing student in financial need.

Class of 1959: Faculty of the Future Fund

This scholarship was established to address the need for additional advanced degree nurse faculty in the Commonwealth and the nation. The scholarship fund will streamline the preparation of highly qualified nursing faculty through the PhD nursing program.

Margaret Wallenius Craig Scholarship

This scholarship was established by James Craig, Biological Sciences Librarian, to honor the memory of his mother, Margaret Wallenius Craig. She believed in the value of higher education, and this scholarship will help nursing students to complete their education.

Elizabeth Czapran Scholarship

Illustrating her recognition of the important role of nurses in our nation’s healthcare, the late Elizabeth Czapran, BS ’58 and MEd ’72, established an endowed fund for students pursuing undergraduate or graduate degrees in the College of Nursing.

Diversity in Nursing Scholarship

This scholarship was established by Dr. Jacqueline S. Dowling to support diversity within the College of Nursing, consistent with the University’s mission and policies.

Dr. Lillian R. Goodman and Dr. Mary K. Alexander Fellowship

This scholarship was established by Dr. Goodman and Dr. Alexander to provide support to students pursuing a PhD at the College of Nursing. Dr. Goodman is a former Associate Dean and Acting Dean of the College of Nursing at UMass Amherst and the former Dean of the Graduate School of Nursing at UMass Worcester. Dr. Alexander received her MS degree in Nursing from UMass Amherst and is the former Associate Dean of the Graduate School of Nursing at UMass Worcester.

Dr. Eileen Hayes Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship honors Dr. Eileen Hayes’ memory and promotes the continuation Dr. Hayes’ teaching, driven by her passion for mentoring and coaching.

Mary A. Maher Scholarship

These scholarships for nursing students were established to honor the founding Dean of the College of Nursing, Mary A. Maher, who was instrumental in establishing the school in 1953. She initiated both the first nursing baccalaureate program and the first graduate program in the public education system in Massachusetts.

Elizabeth Battey Marchese Memorial Scholarship Fund

The late Mr. Lawrence Marchese established the Elizabeth Battey Marchese Memorial Scholarship Fund at the College of Nursing in memory of his late wife, who was a nurse. The Fund supports scholarships for students pursuing baccalaureate degrees within the College.

Linda Peters Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship was established to honor the memory of Linda Peters, by recognizing excellence in an undergraduate student who has completed the junior year of the Nursing Major.

Oakes Family Nursing Scholarship

This scholarship supports to RN to BS or Second Bachelor students at the College of Nursing, with a preference for students who attended Greenfield Community College.

Helen A. Reid Scholarship

Established to provide scholarship support for undergraduate or graduate students enrolled in the College of Nursing, based on financial need. This fund was established by Dr. Patricia “Pat” Reid Ponte, a 1976 undergraduate alumna of the College of Nursing. Pat established this fund to honor her mother, Helen A. Reid.

Dr. E. Ann Sheridan Scholarship

The purpose of this scholarship is to endow an annual scholarship for an outstanding student in Nursing Major who has completed three years of undergraduate study and demonstrated sustained interest and skill in the nursing care of hospitalized children and their families.

Enid S. Silverman Nursing Scholarship

This Scholarship shall be awarded to students primarily based on financial need to undergraduate or graduate students.

Dr. Rachel E. Tierney Nursing Scholarship

Established in 2009 by alumna Dr. Rachel E. Tierney, this fund will endow scholarships for doctoral nursing students. 

Elizabeth Woolrich Scholarship

Established by Robert Woolrich, ‘76G an alumnus from the School of Public Health and Health Sciences and his wife, Noeline, a registered nurse. This gift honors the memory of Mr. Woolrich’s late mother Elizabeth and pays tribute to Mr. and Mrs. Woolrich’s personal and professional interests in end-of-life care.

Your gift directly impacts College of Nursing students

Give Now

Your gifts directly affect our ability to innovate, grow and assist students to realize their educational and career dreams.