UMass Amherst Provost Announces Recipients of Outstanding Teacher Awards

AMHERST, Mass. - University of Massachusetts provost Patricia Crossen has announced the recipients of the 1996-97 College Outstanding Teacher Awards.

Established in 1992, the awards recognize excellence in teaching and honor individual faculty members at the campus''s nine schools and colleges for their teaching accomplishments.

Honorees are selected on the basis of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity, impact on students, and contributions to the teaching mission of their school or college and the University. Awardees receive a $1,000 honorarium and a plaque and and will be recognized at Commencement May 25.

Recipients of the 1996-97 College Outstanding Teacher Awards are:

School of Nursing: Helen Carcio;

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics: William J. Gerace, physics and astronomy; Arnold L. Rosenberg, computer science; Roberta O. Day, chemistry;

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences: Naomi R. Gerstel, sociology; Arnold D. Well, psychology;

College of Engineering: David M. Pozar, electrical and computer engineering;

College of Food and Natural Resources: Robert D. Childs Jr., entomology; Matthew J. Kelty, forestry and wildlife management; Thomas H. Stevens, resource economics;

School of Education: Portia C. Elliott; Ronald K. Hambleton;

School of Management: Richard J. Asebrook, accounting and information systems; Robert D. Marx, management;

College of Humanities and Fine Arts: Carlin A. Barton, history; Anthony R. Terrizzi, French and Italian; Kyle B. Johnson, linguistics;

School of Public Health and Health Sciences: Jane Baran, communication disorders.