UMass Amherst Has Record Number of Fulbright U.S. Student Program Grantees

AMHERST, Mass. – The academic accomplishments and leadership experience of 10 University of Massachusetts Amherst students have been recognized with the awarding of grants from the 2014-15 Fulbright U.S. Student Program. They will be heading off this summer to points across the globe – from Iceland and Mexico to Malaysia and Burkino Faso – to conduct research or teach English in the coming academic year. 

For the Commonwealth’s flagship campus, the 10 scholarships are a new record for Fulbright scholarships and the grants are divided evenly between graduate and undergraduate students. The total number could go even higher as two more students are still awaiting final word of their status. Two others were selected as alternates and will hear later this spring or in early summer about whether they will be recipients, according to Susan Krauss Whitbourne, the director of the Office of National Scholarship Advisement at UMass Amherst.

“Fulbright is an incredibly competitive scholarship, and it is quite a recognition for each of these students, but also for the university to continue to put forward such strong candidates,” said Whitbourne. “We are proud of our student winners, and thankful to all students who applied, as well as the faculty who helped recruit, advise and evaluate our applicants.”

The graduate student recipients, their hometowns, discipline and Fulbright destinations are:

  • Kate de Vane Brown of Amherst, English teaching assistantship in Germany
  • Katherine Lownsberry of Salem, Ore., engineering, Burkina Faso
  • Gregory de Wet of Lancaster, Pa., geology, Norway
  • Alyssa Grahame of Northampton, political science, Iceland
  • Dana Johnson of South Deerfield, anthropology, Serbia

The undergraduate recipients, their hometowns, discipline and Fulbright destinations are:

  • Keith Lema of Easton, English teaching assistantship, Spain
  • Miriam Tinberg of Pawtucket, R.I, English teaching assistantship, Morocco
  • Clara Wool of Ayer, environmental studies, Israel
  • Katelyn Ferreira of Somerset, English teaching assistantship, Malaysia
  • Lindsay Van Dyke of Ludlow, sociology, Mexico

The Fulbright Program was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas and is sponsored by the United States Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. The program currently awards approximately 1,900 grants annually in all fields of study, and operates in more than 140 countries worldwide.

The 2015-16 competition opened on May 1, and current students and alumni with interest in applying should contact the Office of National Scholarship Advisement at Commonwealth Honors College.