UMass Amherst Announces Faculty Fellows, Distinguished Teacher Honorees, Advisor of Year

AMHERST, Mass. - The University of Massachusetts has announced the names of three faculty members who will receive Faculty Fellowships for 1997; four faculty members and two teaching assistants who will receive 1996-97 Distinguished Teaching Awards; and the 1997 Academic Advisor of the Year.

Winners of Faculty Fellowships are: John J. McCarthy, linguistics; Murugappan Muthukumar, polymer science and engineering; and Calvin T. Swift, electrical and computer engineering.

Each fellow receives a plaque, a $3,000 honorarium, and a year''s leave from teaching to pursue research, creative work, scholarly attainment, or graduate education. Nominations for fellowships are made by department heads to their respective deans, with final selections made by a committee of the University''s Research Council. Selection is based on demonstrably outstanding accomplishments and potential for continued excellence.

Faculty members receiving Distinguished Teaching Awards are: David H. Arnold, professor of psychology; Nina M. Scott, professor of Spanish and Portuguese; Anne E. Simon, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology; and Richard F. Yarde, professor of art. Teaching assistants receiving Distinguished Teaching Awards are: Don Berkich, philosophy, and Peter C. Diplock, School of Management.

The Distinguished Teaching Award is the most prestigious prize awarded by the University for excellence in classroom teaching. All awardees are given a plaque and a monetary award; faculty members receive $3,000, teaching assistants $2,000. Nominations for the awards are made by present and former students to the Distinguished Teaching Awards Committee, which is comprised of faculty, undergraduate students, and graduate students who were former winners. The committee selects the recipients.

The Academic Advisor of the Year is Thelma Canale-Parola, assistant director of the Bachelor''s Degree with Individual Concentration program.

Canale-Parola will also receive a plaque and a cash gift of $3,000. Nominations for the award are submitted to a committee which makes the final selection. As this year''s winner, Canale-Parola''s name has also been submitted by the Provost''s Office for national recognition by the National Academic Advising Association.

The awards will be presented at the annual Graduate School dinner May 14.