UMass Amherst Announces Detailed Scheduled of Commencement Weekend Events

Graduate School Ceremony

AMHERST, Mass. - The Graduate School at the University of Massachusetts will hold its Commencement ceremony Sat. May 22 at 10:30 a.m. in the William D. Mullins Memorial Center.

Approximately 1,300 graduate students are candidates for master’s or doctoral degrees. Three honorary degrees will be conferred during the ceremony. The recipients are: Mary Maples Dunn, director of the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College; Vladimir Haensel, professor emeritus of chemical engineering and winner of engineering’s highest award, the Charles Stark Draper Prize; and Ervin H. Zube, professor emeritus and former head of the department of landscape architecture and regional planning. There will be no keynote speaker.

University President William M. Bulger, Amherst Chancellor David K. Scott, and Frederick W. Byron Jr., interim vice chancellor for research, will all participate in the ceremony.

Stockbridge Graduation

The Stockbridge School will hold its Commencement Sat. May 22 at 2 p.m. in Bowker Auditorium. About 100 students are candidates for the two-year associate of science degree in six different majors.

Keynote speaker is Paul F. Miller, 1970 Stockbridge alumnus and director of golf course operations at the Nashawtuc Country Club in Concord, Mass.

Phi Beta Kappa Installation

The annual induction ceremony for juniors and seniors elected to Phi Beta Kappa at the University will be held Sat. May 22 at 2:30 p.m. in the Campus Center Auditorium. A total of 149 new members will be inducted into the campus chapter of the nation’s most prestigious undergraduate honor society. Keynote speaker is Susan Krauss Whitbourne, professor of psychology; occasional poet is Paul L. Mariani, professor of English. A reception for new members and their families will follow the ceremony. All Phi Beta Kappa members and members of the University community are invited to attend.

Nurses’ Pinning Ceremony

A total of 174 students will receive their nurse’s pin in ceremonies Sat. May 22 in the Concert Hall of the Fine Arts Center beginning at 3 p.m. The pin is a symbol that the wearer is a professional nurse and indicates the student has completed the program of study for the bachelor’s degree in nursing at the University.

Keynote speaker for the pinning ceremony is Stacey Ober, a 1985 alumna of the School of Nursing, who is also an attorney and association director of legislation for the Massachusetts Nurses Association. Chancellor David K. Scott will deliver welcoming remarks.

ROTC Commissioning

The Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC) will hold its joint Army-Air Force commissioning at 5 p.m. Sat. May 22 in Bowker Auditorium. Keynote speaker is Col. John Mullin, assistant adjutant general of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and professor of landscape architecture and regional planning at UMass. Chancellor David K. Scott will also address the cadets.

At the ceremony, 17 cadets will be commissioned as second lieutenants. The Army ROTC will commission 11 cadets, all from UMass. The Air Force ROTC will commission six, four from UMass and two from Mount Holyoke College.

Undergraduate Commencement

The University will hold is 129th Commencement on Sun. May 23 at 10:30 a.m. in Warren P. McGuirk Alumni Stadium. Approximately 4,000 undergraduates are candidates for bachelor’s degrees. Massachusetts Lt. Gov. Jane Swift will deliver the greetings of the commonwealth.

Keynote speaker for the ceremony is Rudolph Crew, chancellor of the Board of Education of the City of New York and a UMass alumnus. Crew will receive an honorary degree during the ceremonies.

Four others will also be awarded honorary degrees: John P. Flavin, businessman, entrepreneur, and University alumnus who is national chairman of Campaign UMass; Shirley Ann Jackson, chairman of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, who will become president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in July; Wynton Marsalis, jazz musician and recording artist; and Diana Chapman Walsh, president of Wellesley College.

The student speaker is Jesse D. Burchfield, attorney general for the Student Government Association at UMass.