Trustees Approve Tenure Awards, Appointments with Tenure

The Board of Trustees at its June 20 meeting awarded tenure to 25 faculty members and appointed eight new professors with tenure.  

Faculty awarded tenure were:

Ajla Aksamija, architecture; Refik I. Baykur, mathematics and statistics; Yuriy Brun, computer science; Isla Castaneda, geosciences; Carey Clouse, architecture; Paul Dennis, music and dance; Brian Dillon, linguistics; Marco Duarte, electrical and computer engineering; Laura Furlan, English.

Also, Bernhard Leidner, psychology; Megan Lewis, theater; Lauren McCarthy, political science; Edie Meidav, English; Anita Milman, environmental conservation; Stephen Paparo, music and dance; Jeffrey Parker, English; Erin Alexandra Pope, astronomy.

Also, Nicholas Reich, biostatistics and epidemiology; Daniel Sack, English; Jessica Schiffman, chemical engineering; Frank Sup, mechanical and industrial engineering; Thomas Vacanti, music and dance; Nefertiti Walker, sport management; Elaine Ying Wang, accounting; and Angela Willey, women, gender, sexuality studies.

Three of those appointed as professors with tenure are joining UMass Amherst as deans:

Cynthia Gerstl-Pepin, student development, became dean of the College of Education on July 1; Laura Haas, computer science, will assume her duties as dean of the College of Information and Computer Sciences on Aug. 1; and Tricia Serio, biochemistry and molecular biology, will assume her duties as dean of the College of Natural Sciences in August.

Also appointed professors with tenure were Jianhan Chen, chemistry, Timothy E. Ford, environmental health sciences, Peter Haas, computer science, Muzaffer (Muzzo) Uysal, management, and Paul Katz, biology.