Search Advisory Committee Named for the Dean of the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

SBS logo

John McCarthy, provost and senior vice chancellor for academic affairs, has appointed a search advisory committee to aid in the selection of the next dean of the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences (SBS).  

After five years of distinguished service, Dean John Hird will be stepping down at the end of this academic year. His extensive contributions as dean will be recognized more fully at a time closer to the conclusion of his term. 

McCarthy has appointed Tricia Serio, dean of the College of Natural Sciences, and Michelle Budig, vice provost for faculty development, as co-chairs of the committee. 

Members of the committee include: Angelica Bernal, associate professor, department of political science; Angela De Oliveira, associate professor, department of resource economics; Ina Ganguli, associate professor, department of economics; Amanda Giorgio, graduate student, department of political science; Kelly Gray, assistant dean and executive director of the SBS Advising Resource Center; Elisabeth Hamin Infield, professor, department of landscape architecture and regional planning; Tom Leatherman,professor, department of anthropology; Jennifer Lundquist, professor, department of sociology and senior associate dean of research and faculty development; Maureen Perry-Jenkins, professor, department of psychological and brain sciences; B.J. Roche, senior lecturer, department of journalism; Erica Scharrer, associate professor, department of communication; and an undergraduate student member to be named at a later date. 

Isaacson Miller has been retained as search consultants. The search will launch this month, with finalist interviews and forums taking place during the spring semester.