Libraries Announce Winners of 2016 Undergraduate Sustainability Research Award

Sustainability logo

The UMass Amherst Libraries have announced the winners of the Undergraduate Sustainability Research Award following a competition that was open to all undergraduate UMass Amherst students.

The first place recipients, who will share a $1,000 scholarship, are Amy Chou of Lowell, Dylan Masi of Amesbury and Tim Shea of Chelmsford for “Monitoring Waste to Minimize Waste at UMass Amherst.” All are Class of 2017.

Two second place awards of a $500 scholarship each go to Will Burgess ’16 of Manchester, Sarah Schomp ’16 of Stow and Mike Iwata ’16 of Manchester for “Eco Connection: Solutions for Thirsty Orchards,” and Sam Stettiner ’16 of Andover for “Ecological and Management Implications of Climate Change Induced Shifts in Phenology of Alewife.”

Honorable mentions of $250 scholarships go to Haeree Park ’18 of Swampscott for “The Black Soldier Fly Larvae Manual” and Maija Ploof ’18 of Leverett for “The Language of Sustainability.”

The award is made possible through the Libraries’ national award-winning Sustainability Fund.

“The winning projects for the 2016 Undergraduate Sustainability Research Awards reflect our students’ dedication to creating a culture of sustainability on campus. The Libraries, supported by our generous Friends of the Library, are proud to support these awards and recognize the outstanding work of UMass Amherst students,” says Director of Libraries Jay Schafer.

The award promotes the learning of sustainability, research strategies and the use of library resources, including consultations with subject librarians. The winning submissions demonstrate students’ sustainability-related research, critical thinking skills and leadership potential, which they will carry into their future academic, vocational and community-based endeavors.

The winning projects will become a part of the Libraries’ Special Collections and University Archives as well as made openly accessible in ScholarWorks, the university’s digital repository:

Masi will accept the first place award on behalf of the team at the annual Dinner with Friends on April 2.