Historic Horse Barn Reborn at Agricultural Learning Center

The rebuilt and relocated horse barn.
The rebuilt and relocated horse barn.
Old stalls will find new uses.
Old stalls will find new uses.

The former campus horse barn, built in 1894 on Grinnell Way and unused for years, has been rebuilt and relocated and is now part of the Stockbridge School of Agriculture’s Agricultural Learning Center just north of campus.

Last used by the UMass Amherst Police Department for its mounted patrol more than a decade ago, the iconic Queen Anne style structure was the last barn on the main campus.

In its new life, the barn supports student agricultural activities and houses industry-standard equipment for washing and packing the approximately 75,000 pounds of vegetables produced by student farmers each year.

Amanda Brown, director of the Agricultural Learning Center, said the equipment will be operating by late summer for the year’s main harvest.

The North Pleasant Street location is part of university property at the former Wysocki Farm.

The building remains a true barn, with limited utilities, although it does have heated, handicapped-accessible bathrooms. It features “eyebrow” windows and a metal roof, as the original did. Horse stalls relocated from the old barn add a bit of history while providing work space and storage.

Although only a limited amount of the original barn could be reused, architectural details have been faithfully reproduced in doors and windows. The paint color, chosen after an analysis of paint chips on the building, is as close to the original and science and history can make it.