Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen to Deliver Annual Gamble Memorial Lecture at UMass Amherst

Janet Yellen

AMHERST, Mass. – Federal Reserve Board Chair Janet Yellen will deliver the annual Philip Gamble Memorial Lecture at the University of Massachusetts Amherst Thursday, Sept. 24, at 5 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center Concert Hall. The event is free and open to the public, with advanced tickets required for admission.

Yellen, who took office as chair of the Fed’s board of governors in 2014, also serves as chair of the Federal Open Market Committee, the system’s principal monetary policymaking body. Prior to her appointment as chair, Yellen served as vice chair of the board, taking office in October 2010 when she simultaneously began a 14-year term as a member of the board.

Yellen is professor emeritus at the University of California, Berkeley, where she was the Eugene E. and Catherine M. Trefethen Professor of Business and professor of economics and has been a faculty member since 1980. She graduated summa cum laude from Brown University with a degree in economics in 1967, and received her Ph.D. in economics from Yale University in 1971. She received the Wilbur Cross Medal from Yale in 1997, an honorary doctor of laws degree from Brown in 1998, and an honorary doctor of humane letters from Bard College in 2000.

An assistant professor at Harvard University from 1971-76, Yellen served as an economist with the Fed in 1977 and 1978, and on the faculty of the London School of Economics and Political Science from 1978-80. She served as chair of the Council of Economic Advisers through 1997-99, and as president and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco from 2004-10.

A member of both the Council on Foreign Relations and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, she has written on a wide variety of macroeconomic issues, specializing in the causes, mechanisms and implications of unemployment.

The Philip Gamble Memorial Lectureship Endowment was established by alumnus Israel Rogosa and other family and friends in memory of Philip Gamble, a member of the UMass Amherst economics faculty from 1935-71 and department chair from 1942-65. The fund supports an annual lecture series featuring a prominent economist, and since its inauguration in 1995 Gamble lecturers have included former U.S. Secretary of Labor Robert Reich, former U.S. Ambassador to India and Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient John Kenneth Galbraith and eight recipients of the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, including Elinor Ostrom, the only woman to have won the award. In 2014 the Gamble Lecture was presented by Thomas Piketty, ​professor of economics at the Paris School of Economics and bestselling author of Capital in the 21st Century.

More information on the 2015 Gamble Lecture by Janet Yellen, including ticketing procedures, can be found here. Yellen’s complete bio can be found here. A complete list of previous Gamble lecturers, with video of all speeches since 2008, can be found here.