Accrediting Agency Seeks Comments on Performance, Quality at UMass Amherst

AMHERST, Mass. - The University of Massachusetts Amherst will undergo a comprehensive evaluation visit Oct. 25-28 by a team representing the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges.

The Commission, which is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, is one of eight accrediting commissions in the United States that provide institutional accreditation on a regional basis. It accredits approximately 200 institutions in the six-state New England region.

UMass Amherst has been accredited by the Commission since 1932 and was last reviewed in 1988.

For the past year and a half, UMass Amherst has been engaged in a process of self-study, addressing the Commission’s "Standards for Accreditation." On its visit to campus, the evaluation team will gather evidence that the self-study is thorough and accurate. The team will make its recommendations to the Commission and, following a review process, the Commission will issue a final report.

The public is invited to submit comments regarding the accreditation to:

Public Comment on UMass Amherst
Commission on Institutions of Higher Education
New England Association of Schools and Colleges
209 Burlington Road
Bedford, Mass. 01730-1433

Comments must address substantive matters related to the quality of the institution and will not be treated as confidential.

Written, signed comments must be received by Oct. 28. The Commission cannot guarantee that comments received after that due date will be considered. Comments should include the name, address, and telephone number of the person providing the comments.

The Commission cannot settle disputes between individuals and institutions, whether those involve faculty, students, administrators, or members of other groups. Individuals considering submitting complaints should request the separate Policy and Procedures for the Consideration of Complaints Made Against Affiliated Institutions from the Commission office.