12 Faculty Selected as 2017-18 TIDE Ambassadors

TEFD logo

The Institute for Teaching Excellence and Faculty Development (TEFD) has named 12 winners of the 2017-2018 TIDE Ambassadors (Teaching for Inclusion, Diversity and Equity) Faculty Fellowship award.

Throughout the program year, participants will explore how they can enhance students’ learning and academic success across cultural, social and learning differences by adopting a strength-based, inclusive and equitable approach to teaching and learning grounded in the value of diversity.

The 2017-2018 faculty fellows represent a wide range of disciplines and teaching interests:

  • Lara Al-Hariri, chemistry, College of Natural Sciences

  • Theresa Austin, teacher education and curriculum studies, College of Education

  • Benita Barnes, educational policy, research and administration, College of Education

  • Sarah Berquist, sustainable food and farming, Stockbridge School of Agriculture

  • Richard Chu, history, Humanities and Fine Arts

  • Leda Cooks, communication, Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Michael DiPasquale, landscape architecture and regional planning, Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Hande Gurses, comparative literature, Humanities and Fine Arts

  • Bryan Monesson-Olson, biochemistry and molecular biology, College of Natural Sciences

  • Timothy Rhandir, environmental conservation, College of Natural Sciences

  • Priyanka Srivastava, economics and history, Social and Behavioral Sciences and Humanities and Fine Arts

  • Brokk Toggerson, physics, College of Natural Sciences

For more information on the TIDE Ambassadors Faculty Fellowship Program, contact Kirsten Helmer at khelmer@umass.edu

TEFD supports the professional development of faculty across all career stages and disciplines with a wide range of programs and resources focused on teaching, mentoring, scholarly writing, tenure preparation, leadership, and work/life balance. Contact TEFD at https://www.umass.edu/ctfd/