Skip to main content


To be considered for university-wide Financial Aid—scholarships, grants, loans, and work-study employment—students must file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). For priority consideration, the FAFSA should be filed between October 1 and February 1 using the school code (002221) and listing the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

For further information about university-wide Financial Aid, please contact UMass Amherst Financial Aid Services (Room 255 Whitmore Building, 413-545-0801). Awards offered through Financial Aid>>

Music Awards For Incoming Students (Music majors only):

Chancellor's Talent Awards (CTA)
Provided by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for incoming undergraduates. The Music and Dance Department awards approximately 25 of these scholarships annually, based entirely on merit, as demonstrated in the audition process. They take the form of either partial (out-of-state) or full (in-state) tuition waivers.

Please note that CTA's may not usually be combined with other undergraduate tuition awards. Please contact the Music and Dance Department Admissions Director (@email) or the UMass Financial Aid office (Room 255, Whitmore Building) if you have questions.

Other merit-based scholarships for incoming freshmen:

Ann Elder Bestor Scholarship
Established by faculty member and former Department Chair Charles Bestor in memory of his wife, for an incoming undergraduate student.

Jeffrey Morgan Scholarships
Given in memory of a young musician who died tragically, these awards assist incoming freshmen with expenses, and are limited to woodwind and brass players.

Music Awards For Current Students:

The following awards are given in recognition of student musical and/or academic excellence, as demonstrated in pursuit of their degree.

Russell E. and Janet R. Falvey Scholarship
For an outstanding Music Education undergraduate student who is a graduate of one of the public high schools in the four counties of Western Massachusetts.

Friends of Music Senior Award
For graduating seniors who demonstrate the highest standards of achievement and participation in the life of the department.

Fletcher Henderson/Max Roach Endowed Scholarship
Given by the Fine Arts Center for a student in the Jazz Program, in recognition of demonstrated progress and development of musical talent, and contribution to musical activities at the university.

Howard Lebow Memorial Scholarship
In memory of Professor Lebow, for a returning undergraduate music major who demonstrates the highest standards of artistic achievement and participation in the life of the department.

Eugenie M. May Award
Established by faculty member and former Department Chair Ernest M. May in memory of his grandmother, for a student who possesses extraordinary musical talent in the area of Piano Performance/ Collaborative Piano and who makes exceptional contributions to the musical life of the department.

Julian Olevsky Scholarship
Created by Professor Estela Olevsky in memory of Professor Julian Olevsky, for a student who best exemplifies high instrumental and musical standards in the area of Violin Performance.

Ornest Undergraduate Award
Created by Professor Dorothy Ornest in memory of her parents, for an outstanding upperclass voice major who demonstrates academic and musical credentials and a commitment to making music in as many ways as possible.

Theodore Presser Foundation Scholarship Award
In recognition of outstanding achievement as an undergraduate music major.

Walter M. Chesnut Scholarship
Given to an outstanding member of the Trumpet studio.

Scholarships are also available by application for current students through the College Of Humanities And Fine Arts (CHFA), 214 South College, (413) 545-4169.