You are here

Math Competition

The 36th & 37th Annual Jacob-Cohen-Killam Mathematics Competition

The department held the Jacob-Cohen-Killam Mathematics Competition exam on Tuesday, April 19th from 7-9pm in 151 and 152 Goessmann.

Because of the pandemic, this year the (36th & 37th annual) J-C-K competition was open to all 1st, 2nd & 3rd year degree students at UMass Amherst.

First Prize $1600
Second Prize $1000
Third Prize $600
Fourth Prize $200

Prize Winners:

  • Bingheng Yang, first [$1600]

  • Chieh-Hui Cheng, second [$1000]

  • Cameron Hurley, third (tie) [$400]

  • Ceilidh Scott, third (tie) [$400]

Honorable Mentions:

  • Pranav Hari [$125]

  • Aditya Khurmi [$125]

  • Steven Rossi [$125]

  • Justin Steinmann [$125]


Continuing Education Students and close relatives of faculty members of the Department of Mathematics & Statistics are not eligible.


  John Baillieul
  James Francis
  Roy Perdue

Past winners

  2004 Elena Zaurovainfo-icon (First Place), Kevin Grimaldi (Second Place), Edward Slavich (Third Place), Thomas Folz-Donahue, Vitaliy Lvin and Michael Sindelar (Honorable Mention)
  2005 Kevin Grimaldi (First Place), Shaohan Hu (Second Place), Daniel Arpino (Third Place), Jesse Winn (Honorable Mention)
  2006 Shaohan Hu (First Place), Michael Krainin (Second Place), Hilary Scheintaub (Third Place), Alexander McAvoy (Honorable Mention)
  2007 Michael Kranin (First Place), Andrew Hall, Kai Xiao (Second Place)
  2008 Andrew Hall (First Place), Kai Xiao (Second Place), Kim Kyungyoon (Third Place), Yi Ding (Honorable Mention)
  2009 Nathan Harmon (First Place), Keaton Burns (Second Place), Boxuan Cuiinfo-icon (Third Place), Anton Medvedev (Fourth Place), Jinlong Tan (Honorable Mention)
  2010 Nathan Harmon (First Place), Jingyu Chen (Second Place), Magnum Lew (Third Place), Nicolas Reyes (Fourth Place), Thomas Ryabin (Honorable Mention)
  2011 Jingyu Chen (First Place), Sunjeong Im (Second Place), Magnum Lew (Third Place-tied), Keenan Mahan (Third Place-tied), Nicholas Reyes (Honorable Mention), Sofya Vorotnikova (Honorable Mention)
  2012 Michael Bjorge (First Place), Andrey Smirnov (First Place), Andrew Maurer (Third Place), Keenan Mahan (Fourth Place), Dan Phelps (Fourth Place), Ryan Szeto (Fourth Place)
  2013 Michael Bjorge (First Place), Andrey Smirnov (Second Place), Jeffrey Amirault (Third Place), Ping Fung (Third Place), Nathaniel Scholnick (Third Place)
  2014 Batkhuyag Batsaikhan (First Place), Aaron Dunbrack (Second Place), Da Lu (Second Place), Jeremiah Davis (Fourth Place)
  2015 Aaron Dunbrack (First Place), Michael Mueller (Second Place), Robert Ambrose (Third Place), Kai Nakamura (Fourth Place)
  2016 Thomas Bogue (First Place), Kai Nakamura (First Place), Aubrey Wiederin (First Place - 3-way tie), James Hagborg (Second Place)
  2017 James Hagborg (First Place), Alexander Fischer (Second Place), Artem Vysogorets (Third Place), Daniel Weber (Fourth Place)
  2018 Patrick Lei (First Place), Nishad Ranade (Second Place), Mark Xiang (Third Place), Shirui Cao (Third Place)
  2019 Patrick Lei (First Place), Guanghao Wei (Second Place), Sattwik Das (Third Place), Shirui Cao (Fourth Place), Risen Luan (Fourth Place)
  2020 Pranav Garg (First Place), Guanghao Wei (Second Place), Kirin Sarangkasari (Third Place), Dhruba Basu (Fourth Place), Joshua Bornstein (Fourth Place), Stuart Lustig (Fourth Place), Matthew Miller (Fourth Place)