You are here

Baillieul Distinguished Lecture Series

The Baillieul Distinguished Lecture is a new annual event meant to publicize and disseminate important developments in mathematics and statistics to a broad audience, made possible by a generous gift by John and Patricia Baillieul.

Fall 2023

We are pleased to welcome Dr. Eitan Tadmor, who will give lectures October 5th and 6th titled Emergent Behavior in Collective Dynamics and Swarm-Based Random Descent Methods for Non-Convex Optimization

Dr. Tadmor is a Distinguished University Professor at the University of Maryland, College Park, where he served as the Director of the Center for Scientific Computation and Mathematical Modeling, 2002-2016. Tadmor’s primary research interests include the interplay between analytical theories and computational aspects of time-dependent problems, with applications to shock waves, kinetic transport, incompressible flows, image processing and self-organized dynamics. His many awards include the SIAM-ETH Henrici prize in 2015, AMS-SIAM Norbert Wiener prize in 2022, and he is an AMS Fellow and a SIAM Fellow.

Fall 2019

We are pleased to welcome Dr. Anthony Bloch, who will give lectures on October 10th and 11th titled Dynamics of Nonholonomic Systems and The Geometry of Integrable Systems and Optimal Control.

Dr. Bloch is the Alexander Ziwet Collegiate Professor of Mathematics and Department Chair at the University of Michigan. He is a leading scholar in the fields of geometric mechanics and control of mechanical systems with symmetry and authored the graduate textbook Nonholonomic Mechanics and Control. He received his PhD from Harvard in 1985, and has received many awards through his career, including a Guggenheim Fellowship and selection as a Fellow of the IEEE, a SIAM Fellow, and an AMS Fellow.