Back to top


A black and white photo of a group of people wearing 1970s clothing.

The nine original faculty members of the Department of Afro-American Studies at its founding in 1970: Allan Austin, Johnnetta Cole, Playthell Benjamin, Ivanhoe Donaldson, Cherif Guellal, Femi Richards, Esther Terry, Michael Thelwell, and Ben Wambari. Photo by Ed Cohen.