The University of Massachusetts Amherst
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
Faculty

Faculty

Anthony Tuck

Anthony Tuck

Professor | Classics Department Chair; and Chair, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures

atuck@classics.umass.edu

(413) 545-4373


541 Herter Hall


View Bio

atuck@classics.umass.edu

(413) 545-4373


541 Herter Hall


View Bio

María Soledad Barbón

Professor

mbarbon@complit.umass.edu

(413) 545-4925


429 Herter Hall


View Bio

mbarbon@complit.umass.edu

(413) 545-4925


429 Herter Hall


View Bio

Stephanie Fetta

Associate Professor

sfetta@umass.edu


417 Herter Hall


View Bio

sfetta@umass.edu


417 Herter Hall


View Bio

Tal Goldfajn

Assistant Professor

tgoldfajn@umass.edu


717 Herter Hall


View Bio

tgoldfajn@umass.edu


717 Herter Hall


View Bio

Mariana Ivanova, German and Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

Mariana Ivanova

Associate Professor of German Film and Media & Academic Director of the DEFA Film Library

mzivanova@umass.edu

(413) 545-6672


509 Herter Hall


View Bio

mzivanova@umass.edu

(413) 545-6672


509 Herter Hall


View Bio

Luis A Marentes

Associate Professor & Honors Director

Julie Roy

Lecturer, Coordinator of the French Teacher Education Program, Director of the Online Summer French Language Program

jmroy@umass.edu

(413) 545-6711


Herter 313


View Bio

jmroy@umass.edu

(413) 545-6711


Herter 313


View Bio

Raul Gutiérrez

Visiting Lecturer

Luiz Amaral, Professor, UMass Amherst

Luiz Amaral

Associate Professor & Director of Portuguese and Brazilian Studies

amaral@umass.edu

(413) 545-4790

Personal Website


404 Herter Hall


View Bio

amaral@umass.edu

(413) 545-4790

Personal Website


404 Herter Hall


View Bio

Meghan Armstrong-Abrami, Assistant Professor & LLC Graduate Program Director, UMass Amherst

Meghan Armstrong-Abrami

Associate Professor & Graduate Program Director

armstrong@spanport.umass.edu

(413) 545-7799


420 Herter Hall


View Bio

armstrong@spanport.umass.edu

(413) 545-7799


420 Herter Hall


View Bio

Philippe Baillargeon, Professor, UMass Amherst

Philippe Baillargeon

Director for the Program in French & Francophone Studies, Director of the Oxford Summer Seminar, Senior Lecturer II

baillargeon@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-2314


316 Herter Hall


View Bio

baillargeon@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-2314


316 Herter Hall


View Bio

Bruce Baird, Associate Professor, UMass Amherst

Bruce Baird

Associate Professor; Graduate Program Director of Japanese

baird@umass.edu

(413) 577-2117

blogs.umass.edu/baird


439 Herter Hall


View Bio

baird@umass.edu

(413) 577-2117

blogs.umass.edu/baird


439 Herter Hall


View Bio

Jessica Barr, Associate Professor, UMass Amherst

Jessica Barr

Professor

jbarr@umass.edu

(413) 545-5618


406 Herter Hall


View Bio

jbarr@umass.edu

(413) 545-5618


406 Herter Hall


View Bio

Luke Bouvier, Senior Lecturer, UMass Amherst

Luke Bouvier

Senior Lecturer II, Graduate Program Director for French & Francophone Studies, Director of the Teacher Licensure Program in Foreign Languages for the Dept. of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

lbouvier@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-2314


318 Herter Hall


View Bio

lbouvier@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-2314


318 Herter Hall


View Bio

Emmanuel Buzay

Emmanuel Buzay

Assistant Professor & Honors Program Director for French & Francophone Studies

ebuzay@umass.edu

(413) 545-6701


309 Herter Hall


View Bio

ebuzay@umass.edu

(413) 545-6701


309 Herter Hall


View Bio

Elena Suet-Ying Chiu, Professor, UMass Amherst

Elena Suet-Ying Chiu

Associate Professor | Program Director, Chinese Language & Literature; Chinese Undergraduate Advisor

chiu@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-5840


333 Herter Hall


View Bio

chiu@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-5840


333 Herter Hall


View Bio

Carole Cloutier, Director of Spanish Language Program, UMass Amherst

Carole Cloutier

Director of the Language Program in Spanish

cloutier@spanport.umass.edu

(413) 545-4916


408 Herter Hall


View Bio

cloutier@spanport.umass.edu

(413) 545-4916


408 Herter Hall


View Bio

Line Drawing of Chris Couch teaching before an image of Donald Duck

N.C. Christopher Couch

Senior Lecturer

nccouch@complit.umass.edu

(413) 577-1309


325 Herter Hall


View Bio

nccouch@complit.umass.edu

(413) 577-1309


325 Herter Hall


View Bio

Andrea Dallas, Lecturer, UMass Amherst

Andrea Dallas

Director of the ESL Program

adallas@umass.edu

(413) 545-4210


Bartlett Hall, Room 380


View Bio

adallas@umass.edu

(413) 545-4210


Bartlett Hall, Room 380


View Bio

Andrew Donson, German & Scandinavian Studies and History, UMass Amherst

Andrew Donson

Associate Professor; Interim Graduate Program Director (German & Scandinavian Studies) Fall '22

adonson@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-6676

Personal website


Herter Hall 505


View Bio

adonson@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-6676

Personal website


Herter Hall 505


View Bio

Julia Feldhaus, Director of iSTEP, German and Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

Julia Feldhaus

Lecturer in STEM German and Director of iSTEP

jfeldhaus@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-6685


521 Herter Hall


View Bio

jfeldhaus@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-6685


521 Herter Hall


View Bio

No image - default user icon

Arturo Figliola

Senior Lecturer

afigliola@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-2314


302 Herter Hall


View Bio

afigliola@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-2314


302 Herter Hall


View Bio

Yi Feng, Senior Lecturer, UMass Amherst

Yi Feng

Senior Lecturer of Chinese

yif@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4957


515 Herter Hall


View Bio

yif@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4957


515 Herter Hall


View Bio

Stephen M. Forrest, Senior Lecturer; Japanese Undergraduate Advisor, UMass Amherst

Stephen M. Forrest

Senior Lecturer; Japanese Undergraduate Advisor; Japanese Exchange Program Director

sforrest@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4950


441 Herter Hall


View Bio

sforrest@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4950


441 Herter Hall


View Bio

Regina Galasso

Associate Professor & Director of the Translation Center

rgalasso@umass.edu


406 Herter Hall


View Bio

rgalasso@umass.edu


406 Herter Hall


View Bio

Ela Gezen - German & Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

Ela Gezen

Associate Professor, Program Director for German, Interim Associate Chair Department of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

egezen@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-6678

Personal Website


517 Herter Hall


View Bio

egezen@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-6678

Personal Website


517 Herter Hall


View Bio

Rachel Green

Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature and Israel/Palestine Studies

Stacy Giufre,Director of Italian Language Program, Lecturer, UMass Amherst

Stacy Giufre

Director of Italian Language Program and the Italian Graduate Program, Senior Lecturer

sgiufre@umass.edu

(413) 545-6713


305 Herter Hall


View Bio

sgiufre@umass.edu

(413) 545-6713


305 Herter Hall


View Bio

Patricia Gubitosi

Associate Professor, Undergraduate Program Director

gubitosi@umass.edu


422 Herter Hall


View Bio

gubitosi@umass.edu


422 Herter Hall


View Bio

Julie Candler Hayes

Professor of French

Jim Hicks, Senior Lecturer, UMass Amherst

Jim Hicks

Senior Lecturer

jhicks@complit.umass.edu

(413) 545-3478


413 Herter Hall


View Bio

jhicks@complit.umass.edu

(413) 545-3478


413 Herter Hall


View Bio

Moira Inghilleri

Professor, Director of Comparative Literature, and Director of Translation and Interpreting Studies

minghilleri@complit.umass.edu

(413) 545-5811


428 Herter Hall


View Bio

minghilleri@complit.umass.edu

(413) 545-5811


428 Herter Hall


View Bio

Sara E Jackson, German & Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

Sara E. Jackson

Associate Professor (On Leave Fall '22)

sarajackson@umass.edu

(413) 545-6686


Herter Hall 513


View Bio

sarajackson@umass.edu

(413) 545-6686


Herter Hall 513


View Bio

Khalil headshot

Nahla Khalil

Five College Lecturer in Arabic

nkhalil@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-5811


427 Herter Hall


View Bio

nkhalil@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-5811


427 Herter Hall


View Bio

Mako Koyama-Hartsfield,Senior Lecturer of Japanese, UMass Amherst

Mako Koyama-Hartsfield

Senior Lecturer of Japanese

mako@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-4958


335 Herter Hall


View Bio

mako@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-4958


335 Herter Hall


View Bio

Kathryn M. Lachman

Associate Professor

klachman@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-6703


320 Herter Hall


View Bio

klachman@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-6703


320 Herter Hall


View Bio

Don Levine, Associate Professor, UMass Amherst

Don E. Levine

Associate Professor and Honors Program Coordinator

delevine@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-5810


328 Herter Hall


View Bio

delevine@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-5810


328 Herter Hall


View Bio

Yu Liu, Senior Lecturer, UMass Amherst

Yu Liu

Senior Lecturer of Chinese

liuyu@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-6684


530 Herter Hall


View Bio

liuyu@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-6684


530 Herter Hall


View Bio

Roberto Ludovico, Professor and Director of the Italian Studies Program, UMass Amherst

Roberto Ludovico

Associate Professor in Italian Studies

ludovico@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-6548


312 Herter Hall


View Bio

ludovico@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-6548


312 Herter Hall


View Bio

Andrea Malaguti, Assistant Professor, UMass Amherst

Andrea Malaguti

Associate Professor of Italian and Film Studies

malaguti@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-4951


307 Herter Hall


View Bio

malaguti@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-4951


307 Herter Hall


View Bio

Cristiano Mazzei, Director of Online Translator and Interpreter Training, UMass Amherst

Cristiano Mazzei

Senior Lecturer and Director of Online Translator and Interpreter Training

cmazzei@umass.edu

(413) 545-6688


518 Herter Hall


View Bio

cmazzei@umass.edu

(413) 545-6688


518 Herter Hall


View Bio

Patrick Mensah, Associate Professor, UMass Amherst

Patrick Mensah

Associate Professor

pmensah@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-6694


315 Herter Hall


View Bio

pmensah@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-6694


315 Herter Hall


View Bio

Stephen D. Miller, Associate Professor, UMass Amherst

Stephen D. Miller

Associate Professor of Japanese

smiller@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-0208


336 Herter Hall


View Bio

smiller@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-0208


336 Herter Hall


View Bio

Guillem Molla, Lecturer & Catalan Language Program Director, UMass Amherst

Guillem Molla

Senior Lecturer & Catalan Language Program Director

gmolla@spanport.umass.edu

(413) 545-2044


421 Herter Hall


View Bio

gmolla@spanport.umass.edu

(413) 545-2044


421 Herter Hall


View Bio

Kerstin Mueller Dembling, German and Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

Kerstin Mueller Dembling

Senior Lecturer, Language Program Coordinator & Undergraduate Program Director

muellerdembling@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-6670


519 Herter Hall


View Bio

muellerdembling@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-6670


519 Herter Hall


View Bio

Michael Papio

Professor of Italian Studies and Director of UMass Medieval Studies

papio@umass.edu

(413) 545-2314


306 Herter Hall


View Bio

papio@umass.edu

(413) 545-2314


306 Herter Hall


View Bio

Chan Young Park, Five College Senior Lecturer

Chan Young Park

Five College Senior Lecturer of Korean

cypark@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-6673


525 Herter Hall


View Bio

cypark@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-6673


525 Herter Hall


View Bio

David Rodríguez-Solás, Assistant Professor, UMass Amherst

David Rodríguez-Solás

Associate Professor | Unit Director & Spanish Program Director

David K. Schneider, Associate Professor, UMass Amherst

David K. Schneider

Associate Professor of Asian Studies

dkschneider@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4954


442 Herter Hall


View Bio

dkschneider@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4954


442 Herter Hall


View Bio

Amanda C. Seaman, Professor, UMass Amherst

Amanda C. Seaman

Professor | Program Director, Japanese Language & Literature

acseaman@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-6679


438 Herter Hall


View Bio

acseaman@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-6679


438 Herter Hall


View Bio

Pamela Shea, Faculty, UMass Amherst

Pamela Shea

ESL Faculty

pshea@umass.edu

(413) 545-4210


Bartlett Hall, Room 378


View Bio

pshea@umass.edu

(413) 545-4210


Bartlett Hall, Room 378


View Bio

Yasuko Shiomi, Lecturer, UMass Amherst

Yasuko Shiomi

Senior Lecturer of Japanese

yshiomi@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4965


317 Herter Hall


View Bio

yshiomi@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4965


317 Herter Hall


View Bio

Zhongwei Shen, Professor, UMass Amherst

Zhongwei Shen

Professor; Chinese Undergraduate Advisor; Linguistics & Chinese Joint Major Advisor

zwshen@umass.edu

(413) 545-4952


338 Herter Hall


View Bio

zwshen@umass.edu

(413) 545-4952


338 Herter Hall


View Bio

Anna Shkireva, Lecturer, Department of Languages Literatures and Cultures, UMass Amherst

Anna Shkireva

Lecturer, Russian Language

ashkireva@umass.edu


431 Herter Hall


View Bio

ashkireva@umass.edu


431 Herter Hall


View Bio

Reiko Sono, Lecturer, UMass Amherst

Reiko Sono

Senior Lecturer; Japanese Undergraduate Advisor; Japanese Honors Program Director; Career Advisor-Japan; Five College Buddhist Studies Certificate Advisor

rsono@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4947


331 Herter Hall


View Bio

rsono@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4947


331 Herter Hall


View Bio

Robert Sullivan, German & Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

Robert Sullivan

Associate Professor (On Leave Fall '22 & Spring '23)

Jeremi Szaniawski

Assistant Professor, Comparative Literature, Graduate Program Director, Amesbury Professor of Polish Language and Culture

jszaniawski@umass.edu

(413) 545-6671


523 Herter Hall


View Bio

jszaniawski@umass.edu

(413) 545-6671


523 Herter Hall


View Bio

Corine Tachtiris

Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Program Director

ctachtiris@umass.edu

(413) 577-4723


432 Herter Hall


View Bio

ctachtiris@umass.edu

(413) 577-4723


432 Herter Hall


View Bio

No image - default user icon

Cara Takakjian

Undergraduate Program Director & Chief Undergraduate Advisor for Italian Studies, Coordinator of Thatcher House Italian Program, Senior Lecturer

ctakakjian@umass.edu

(413) 545-6707


315 Herter Hall


View Bio

ctakakjian@umass.edu

(413) 545-6707


315 Herter Hall


View Bio

Maria Tymoczko, Professor, UMass Amherst

Maria Tymoczko

Professor

tymoczko@complit.umass.edu

(413) 545-5814


411 Herter Hall


View Bio

tymoczko@complit.umass.edu

(413) 545-5814


411 Herter Hall


View Bio

Eva Valenta

Eva Valenta

Undergraduate Program Director and Chief Undergraduate Advisor for French & Francophone Studies, Senior Lecturer II

evalenta@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-6703


319 Herter Hall


View Bio

evalenta@frital.umass.edu

(413) 545-6703


319 Herter Hall


View Bio

Ena Valor

Ena Vulor

Senior Lecturer

evulor@umass.edu

(413) 545-6694


Herter Hall 304


View Bio

evulor@umass.edu

(413) 545-6694


Herter Hall 304


View Bio

Simon Wang

Simon Wang

ESL Faculty

simonwang@oe.umass.edu


Bartlett Hall, Room 389


View Bio

simonwang@oe.umass.edu


Bartlett Hall, Room 389


View Bio

Zhijun Wang,Associate Professor, UMass Amherst

Zhijun Wang

Associate Professor; Graduate Program Director of Chinese; Chinese Language Program Director; Chinese Teacher Licensure Program Director; Chinese Study-Abroad Program Director

zhijunw@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4948


337 Herter Hall


View Bio

zhijunw@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4948


337 Herter Hall


View Bio

Yuki Yoshimura, Lecturer, UMass Amherst

Yuki Yoshimura

Senior Lecturer; Japanese Language Program Director; Linguistics & Japanese Joint Major Advisor

yuki@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4953

Personal Website


329 Herter Hall


View Bio

yuki@asianlan.umass.edu

(413) 545-4953

Personal Website


329 Herter Hall


View Bio

Barbara Zecchi, Professor, Director of Film Studies, UMass Amherst

Barbara Zecchi

Professor & Director of Film Studies

Enhua Zhang, Associate Professor, UMass Amherst

Enhua Zhang

Associate Professor; Chinese Honors Program Director

ezhang@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-4946


340 Herter Hall


View Bio

ezhang@llc.umass.edu

(413) 545-4946


340 Herter Hall


View Bio

Skyler Arndt-Briggs, German and Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

Skyler Arndt-Briggs

Executive Director of the DEFA Film Library, Adjunct Faculty

sky@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-6674


508 Herter Hall


View Bio

sky@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-6674


508 Herter Hall


View Bio

E Bruce Brooks, Research Professor, UMass Amherst

E Bruce Brooks

Research Professor of Chinese

ebbrooks@research.umass.edu

(413) 584-1810


39 Hillside Road, Northampton MA 01060


View Bio

ebbrooks@research.umass.edu

(413) 584-1810


39 Hillside Road, Northampton MA 01060


View Bio

Sigrid Bauschinger, Professor Emerita, German and Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

Sigrid Bauschinger

Wolfgang Paulsen Professor Emerita in German

Barton Byg, Professor Emeritus, Founding director of DEFA Film Library, German and Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

Barton Byg

Professor Emeritus & Founding Director of the DEFA Film Library

James E. Cathey, Professor Emeritus, German and Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

James E. Cathey

Professor Emeritus, German & Scandinavian Studies

Frank Hugus, Professor Emeritus, German and Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

Frank Hugus

Professor Emeritus

hugus@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-2350


506 Herter Hall


View Bio

hugus@german.umass.edu

(413) 545-2350


506 Herter Hall


View Bio

Sara Lennox, Professor/Director Emeriti of German and Scandinavian Studies, UMass Amherst

Sara Lennox

Professor Emerita in German & Scandinavian Studies; Former Director in Social Thought & Political Economy

Robert Rothstein

Emeritus Professor

rar@slavic.umass.edu


Department of Judaic and Near-Eastern Studies


View Bio

rar@slavic.umass.edu


Department of Judaic and Near-Eastern Studies


View Bio