Links
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
People

Adjunct, Allied and Emeritus Faculty

Adjunct faculty

Altshuler, Daniel
Assistant Professor, Linguistics (Hampshire College)
 
Semantics & Pragmatics daltshul@gmail.com
Office: Adele Simmons Hall, Room 219 Hampshire College  
Amaral, Luiz
Associate Professor, Hispanic Linguistics
 
Intelligent Computer-Assisted Language Learning (ICALL), Second Language Acquisition, and Syntax amaral@spanport.umass.edu
(413) 545-4790
Office: Herter 404
Armstrong-Abrami, Meghan
Assistant Professor, Hispanic Linguistics
 
Intonation/Prosody, Intonational meaning, Menatl State Language, L1 Acquisition,and Non-standard varieties of Spanish and English armstrong@spanport.umass.edu
(413) 545-4910
Office: Herter Hall
Borschev, Vladimir

 

formal language theory, formal and lexical semantics borschev@linguist.umass.edu
 
Freeman, Donald C.
Founding Head of Department
 
Poetics d.freeman4@verizon.net
 
Jesse, Alexandra
Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
 
Psycholinguistics, speech perception, audiovisual speech perception ajesse@umass.edu
(413) 545-2175
Office: Tobin 433
Potts, Christopher
Professor, Linguistics (Stanford)
 
Pragmatics, semantics, computation cgpotts@stanford.edu
(650) 723-0388
Office: 101 Building 460, Stanford University
Rothstein, Robert
Professor of Judaic and Slavic Studies and of Comparative Literature
 
Slavic and Yiddish linguistics rar@slavic.umass.edu
(413) 545-0894
Office: Herter 741
Sanders, Lisa
Associate Professor, Psychology
 
Selective auditory attention in speech processing lsanders@psych.umass.edu
(413) 545-5962
Office: Tobin 429
Staub, Adrian
Associate Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
 
Psycholinguistics astaub@psych.umass.edu
(413) 545-5925
Office: Tobin Hall 430
Velleman, Shelley
Chair, Communication Sciences and Disorders (UVermont)
 
Acquisition and disorders of phonology shelley.velleman@uvm.edu
(802) 656-3868
Office: 402 Pomeroy Hall, University of Vermont

 

Allied faculty

Bolozky, Shmuel
Professor, Department of Judaic and Near Eastern Studies
 
Modern Hebrew phonology and morphology shmuel.bolozky@judnea.umass.edu
(413) 545-6780
Office: 742 Herter Hall
Bricker, Phillip
Professor, Department of Philosophy
 
Philosophy of Language bricker@philos.umass.edu
(413) 545-5785
Office: 356 Bartlett Hall
Cathey, James E.
Professor (Ret), Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures
 
Germanic phonology, Finnish phonology cathey@german.umass.edu
(413) 545-2350 
Office: 506 Herter Hall
Clifton, Charles
Professor Emeritus, Department of Psychology
 
  cec@psych.umass.edu
(413) 545-2653
Office: 435 Tobin Hall
de Villiers, Jill
Professor, Department of Psychology, Smith College
 
Language acquisition jdevil@science.smith.edu
(413) 585-3907
Office: 401 Bass Hall, Smith College
Feinstein, Mark
Professor of Linguistics, Hampshire College
 
Animal vocalization, cognition, and behavior mhfCCS@hampshire.edu
(413) 559-5551
Office: 206 Adele Simmons Hall, Hampshire College
Freyman, Richard
Professor, Department of Communication Disorders
 
Hearing rlf@comdis.umass.edu
(413) 545-0298
201C Communication Disorders Building
Hoover, Jill
Assistant Professor
 
Phonological acquisition and disorders, Grammatical acquisition and Specific Language Impairment jrhoover@comdis.umass.edu
545-3177
Office: 308 Communication Disorders Building
Klement, Kevin C.
Professor
 
Logic, syntax klement@philos.umass.edu
(413) 545-5784
Office: 353 Bartlett Hall
Perez Carballo, Alejandro
Assistant Professor
 
Philosophy of mind and language, philosophy of mathematics, metaethics, metaphysics, epistemology apc@philos.umass.edu
(413) 545-8136
Office: 363 Bartlett Hall 130 Hicks Way
Wallace, Rex
Professor, Department of Classics
 
Italic and Etruscan linguistics rwallace@classics.umass.edu
(413) 545-5779
Office: 520 Herter Hall
Weisler, Steven
Provost, Dominican University of California
 
Semantics steven.weisler@dominican.edu
(415) 458-3759
Office: 210 Guzman Hall, Dominican University of California

Emeritus faculty

Bach, Emmon
Professor Emeritus
 
Syntax, semantics

Emmon passed away in November, 2014. Remembering Emmon »

Freeman, Donald C.
Founding Head of Department
 
Poetics d.freeman4@verizon.net
 
Higgins, F. Roger
Associate Professor Emeritus
 
Syntax, historical linguistics frh@linguist.umass.edu
 
Kratzer, Angelika
Professor Emerita
 
Semantics, Syntax/Semantics Interface kratzer@linguist.umass.edu
(413) 545-6829
Office: ILC N420 650 N. Pleasant St
Partee, Barbara H.
Distinguished University Professor Emerita, Linguistics and Philosophy
 
Semantics, syntax, logic, cognitive science partee@linguist.umass.edu
(413) 545-6832
Office: ILC 407 650 N. Pleasant St
Selkirk, Elisabeth
Professor Emerita
 
Phonology, prosody, interfaces of phonology with syntax, semantics selkirk@linguist.umass.edu
(413) 545-6831
Office: ILC N405 650 N. Pleasant St