Search Google Appliance

Information Technology

How Do I Securely Set Up My Secure Online Storage at UMass Amherst Account?

Important: Secure Online Storage at UMass Amherst can be used for storing or sharing most types of university data, using certain additional security measures, including some data that that is considered sensitive data. For specific information see Understand Sensitive Data at UMass Amherst. For information about the different types of sensitive data see Data Classification at UMass Amherst.  For information about what data can be stored in Box, see What types of data are appropriate for my Secure Online Storage at UMass Amherst account?

Note:
The following recommendations will increase the security of your Secure Online Storage at UMass Amherst account, but may not be sufficient in and of themselves to protect certain types of sensitive university data. If you work with sensitive data, or if you need or desire more advanced security, see Protecting sensitive data in Box.
 

Initial Box account configuration

Note:
If you haven't yet created your Secure Online Storage at UMass Amherst account, see Getting started with Secure Online Storage at UMass Amherst provided by Box.

Rather than using the default settings, you should apply more restrictive security settings when first configuring your Secure Online Storage at UMass Amherst account. You can make adjustments as needed to share files and collaborate.

Below are the recommended default settings. You will likely need to adjust these settings to effectively and efficiently collaborate with others; be sure to do so in a way that grants others only the access they need and no more. Situations that may require sharing are outlined below in Collaboration settings.

  1. Log into Box. At the upper right, click your name and select Account Settings.
  2. From the Content & Sharing tab:
    1. In the "Shared Links" section:
      1. By default, configure the "Enable external links" option to Nothing, restrict sharing. You can always change it later if you need to share a file with a very large group, but this setting allows for the greatest privacy.
      2. Configure the "Let link viewers:" option as you like.
      3. Uncheck Shared content commenting.
    2. In the "Collaborating on Content" section, uncheck Incoming invitations. You should explicitly decide which projects and data you have access to.
    3. You can safely ignore the "Uploading Content" section.
    4. Click Save.
  3. From the Notifications tab:
    1. Check all boxes beneath "in folders I own". You should be aware when individuals access your uploaded files.
    2. Configure the "General Emails" options as you like.
    3. In the "Real-time Notifications" section, you should opt to at least receive Important notifications.
    4. Click Save.

Collaboration settings

Box is designed to be a collaborative tool. To use it effectively, you'll likely need to grant others access to files in your account. Follow this guide to do so safely.

The most important thing to remember is to always have a good idea of what's going on in your Box account. Know what files you've uploaded to which folders and what the sharing settings on those folders are. Remove outdated information or folders once they're no longer necessary.

Additionally, remember that folders will inherit the settings and permissions of the parent folder; you cannot remove settings and collaborators from child folders.

Below are examples of collaborative situations in which you may need to share your files.

Work/storage for yourself

  1. Create a top "root-level" folder that will remain private:
    1. From your Box account home screen, select New and then Folder.
    2. Enter a name for your folder, select Keep private for now, and then click Okay.
  2. Once the folder is created, right-click the folder, select Folder Settings, and then choose the following settings:
    1. Under "Invitation Restrictions", check Only Owners and Co-owners can send collaborator invites.
    2. Under "Shared Links", check Restrict shared links to Collaborators Only. From the "For:" drop-down menu, select Files and Folders.
  3. At the upper right, click Save Changes.

As long as you upload or save your personal files to this location and ensure the folder isn't shared, these files should remain private.

Students and instructors

These settings apply both for students sharing with instructors and vice versa.

  1. Create a top "root-level" folder that will be used to share files with students or instructors:
    1. From your Box account home screen, select New and then Folder.
    2. Enter a name for your folder and click Okay.
  2. Once the folder is created, right-click the folder, select Folder Settings, and then choose the following settings:
    1. Under "Invitation Restrictions", check Only Owners and Co-owners can send collaborator invites.
    2. If anonymous collaboration is required, check Hide collaborators.
    3. Under "Shared Links", check Restrict shared links to Collaborators Only. From the "For:" drop-down menu, select Files and Folders.
  3. At the upper right, click Save Changes.

Child folders created within the parent can house collaborators as needed based on assignment, course, or one for each student or instructor.

Private collaborations

Box provides two primary methods of sharing or collaborating: shared links and collaboration invitations. When sharing, send an explicit invitation to each individual (unless the collaborative group is very large). Invitations to collaborate can be sent by using the Invite People button within the folder you wish to invite collaborators to.

Access levels

Pay special attention to access levels when sharing files and folders with other collaborators. Ensure each individual is configured at the desired access level; see What are the different access levels for collaborators? on the Box Support site.

Questions