Search Google Appliance

Information Technology

Manage Your Echo360 Course and Content

Echo360 provides many options for managing content in your Echo360 courses, and sharing your content with students.

Manage Presentations and Interactive Activities in Echo360

Echo360 lets you upload presentations to your Content area to store and work on or to your class to share with students. You can edit the presentation directly in Echo360 by adding or deleting slides/pages. For example, as an instructor, you could use Echo360 to share lecture slides after a recorded classroom session, or as a way to embed supplemental content and assessment questions. When students view slides in the Echo360 classroom player, they can view slides side-by-side with classroom recordings, zoom, and advance slides at their own pace.

For more on presentations, see Echo360’s documentation on Working with Slides and Presentations.

For more on interactive activities, see Echo360’s Adding Interactive Slides to a Presentation.

Editing an Echo360 Recording

You can edit media uploaded into Echo360 using the built in basic editor. The editor allows you make changes to video/audio such as trimming ends or cutting out sections. If you need advanced editing features, you may need to download the video and use an advanced editing platform such as Camtasia.

To use the Echo360 editor, see Echo360’s Editing Videos.

Measure Student Engagement in Echo360

You can record and view student interactions with your content in Echo360 in a number of ways. You and your students can ask questions, create discussions, respond to questions, flag content as confusing, and more. You can also use the Analytics tools in Echo360 to see when students engage with content, how much of a video they watch, and more.

For more on posting questions, see Echo360’s Viewing and Posting Questions and Monitoring and Managing Discussions/Q&A Posts.

For more on the Analytics options, see Echo360’s Course Analytics - Overview.

Share Content to Your Echo360 Course

Once you have created, uploaded, and/or edited your content, you will need to add that content to a course to share it with your students. Sharing content to an Echo360 course is the first step to give students access to Echo360 recordings for the current semester in your Moodle course. At the end of the semester, students will lose access to the content. You will still have access to the content in the Echo360 course, and your Echo360 Content areas on the Home page.

To share or unshare content in your course, see Echo360’s Share or Unshare Content to a Course.

Download a recording from Echo360

Your content added to Echo360 is stored in the cloud. As the content owner, you can download it to maintain backups, edit it using an advanced video editor, or upload it to another video sharing platform. When you download your Echo360 recordings, they will be in .mp4 format. You can download each video feed, or just download the audio file to use it as a podcast.

For more instructions, see Echo360’s Download Content to Your Computer.

Edit the Availability of Content in an Echo360 Course

Once content has been shared to an Echo360 course you can control when, and for how long, it is available to students within a semester. You can delay the availability of content in your course, or give it an expiration time to stop students from accessing it. Please note, regardless of settings you choose, students will lose access to Echo360 course material at the end of the semester the course is offered.

For instructions, see Echo360's Edit the Availability of Content

Delete Echo360 Content

There are two options for deleting content in Echo360. One is to delete the class which contains a video and/or presentation from an Echo360 course. Doing this will remove students’ ability to access the content, but it will remain within the system.

For step by step instructions on deleting content from a course, see Echo360’s Delete a Class or Group.

The other way to delete content is to remove it from the system entirely. If you delete content this way it will be removed from the system and anywhere the content was published to in Echo360. This cannot be undone. We recommend downloading your content to your computer before deleting it from the system.

For steps on deleting content from Echo360, see Echo360’s Delete Content from the Echo360 System.