Search Google Appliance

Information Technology

Add Co-Authors & Members to Your Blog

Use roles to distribute responsibilities among regular contributors to your blog. For instance, an instructor might allow a TA to moderate discussions, or let students in a seminar create posts and comments.

Note: You can only assign roles to members of the UMass Amherst community with UMass IT Account NetIDs and passwords.

Add Users

Note: Users will need to log in to blogs.umass.edu prior to being added as a User to your blog. Individuals who have not completed this step will not be active as users that can be added.

  1. On the Dashboard toolbar, click Users (the people icon), then click Add User. The Add User screen will open.
  2. From the Role drop-down menu, select a role (see user role descriptions below).
  3. On the Add User screen, in the Username field, enter the NetID of the user you wish to add. Note: You can only assign roles to a NetID. Entering a name or email address will return an error message.
  4. Click Add user, or press Enter/Return. A User added confirmation message will appear at the top of the screen.

Manage Users Roles

Once you have added users to your blog, you can change their roles or remove their privileges. Blogs at UMass Amherst support the following user roles:

  • Administrator: Has access to all administration features. Can change themes, activate plugins, edit users, moderate comments – basically, do everything. Be careful how you share this privilege!
  • Editor: Can publish and manage posts as well as manage other users’ posts, etc.
  • Author: Can publish and manage their own posts.
  • Contributor: Can write and manage posts, but cannot publish posts (drafts must be published by an Editor or Administrator).
  • Subscriber: Can read blog pages and posts.
  1. On the Dashboard toolbar, click Users (the people icon). The Users screen will open, listing users who have roles on your blog.
  2. To change a user’s role, check the box next to the user’s name, then, from the Change role to... drop down menu (top center), select a new role, and click Change.
  3. To remove privileges and delete them from your list of users, move your mouse over a user’s name and click Remove. The Delete Users screen will open.
  4. On the Delete Users screen, click Confirm removal. Post made by the removed user will remain on the blog, attributed to them.