Several new defaults for select settings on Zoom will be implemented for the spring semester to enhance security and the user experience.
Settings to be changed:
- Must secure all meetings with a passcode, Waiting Room, or "Only authenticated users can join meetings"
- Allow users to report meeting participants for inappropriate behavior to Zoom's Trust and Safety team for review.
- Start meetings with participant video on. Participants can change this during the meeting.
- Allow meeting participants to communicate without interrupting by clicking on icons (yes, no, slow down, speed up, coffee cup).
- Allow meeting participants and webinar panelists to rename themselves
- Notify the host 7 days before the cloud recording is permanently deleted from trash.
- Require users who are using older versions of Zoom to update to the minimum client versions specified.
These settings will retroactively change previously scheduled meetings.