Peer Staff

Tori Marshall

API: Florence, Italy

Hi everyone! My name is Tori Marshall, and I am a senior here at UMass. I am a Psychology major with a minor in Education. I studied abroad in Florence Italy, in the API Semester Business, Arts, Humanities, Italian Language and Culture program spring of my sophomore year. My favorite memory by far was traveling to different countries, and learning about tons of different cultures through food, music, and the people I met. I was able to learn different languages and make connections with tons of locals all over Europe. If I could give some advice to students who are considering going abroad, my biggest tip would be try to learn the language while you are there if possible. I was one of the only people who would try and speak Italian out of my American friends, and could tell people really appreciated the effort, and I was able to make a ton more connections with local Italians. Another piece of advice would be that even though it's scary YOU CAN DO IT!! This is a once in a lifetime opportunity, and even though it’s throwing yourself completely out of your comfort zone, traveling and growing your independence is worth the risk.

Ask me about:

  • Traveling outside home country
  • Studying abroad sophomore year
  • Florence, Italy
  • Learning Italian language (conversational)
  • Homesickness and Mental Health

My Spring 2024 Advising Center Hours:

  • Mondays: 12:00pm - 4:30pm
  • Tuesdays and Thursdays: 10:30am - 12:30pm
  • Wednesdays: 1:00pm - 4:30pm