The University of Massachusetts Amherst


2019-2020 Five College Working Group 

"Citizenship and Other States of Belonging"

In the academic year 2019-2020, the Institute for Holocaust, Genocide, and Memory Studies (IHGMS) at the University of Massachusetts Amherst will bring together an interdisciplinary group of scholars from the Five Colleges to explore the topic of “Citizenship and Other States of Belonging.” The project organizers are Aviva Ben-Ur, Professor in the Department of Judaic and Near Eastern Studies, and Luis A. Marentes, Associate Professor in the Program in Spanish and Portuguese, both at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Project description (pdf)

IHGMS Fellows will collectively select and read key primary and secondary source documents, will have opportunities to present their works in progress, and will interact with outside scholars, who will be supported out of a small budget for invited guest speakers.

The 2019-20 Five College Working Group includes:

Ela Gezen
Associate Professor of German
Department of Languages Literatures and Cultures, German and Scandinavian Studies
UMass Amherst

Ibtissam Bouachrine
Associate Professor of Spanish
Department of Spanish & Portuguese
Smith College

Jim Wald
Associate Professor of History, Critical Social Inquiry
Hampshire College

Rachel Green
Assistant Professor of Israel/Palestine Studies
Program in Comparative Literature
Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures
UMass Amherst

Stephanie Fetta
Associate Professor of Latin@/x Literature and Cultures 
Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures
UMass Amherst

Seminar Schedule:
Thursday, September 12, 6:30 p.m.-9:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 10, 6:30 p.m.-9:00 p.m.
Thursday, November 14, 6:30 p.m.-8:00 p.m.—panel discussion (open to public)
Thursday, December 12, 6:30 p.m.-9:00 p.m.
Thursday, February 13, 6:30 p.m.-9:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 12, 6:30 p.m.-9:00 p.m.  "Inclusion & Exclusion: The Polish Nation and Arab America", public panel discussion (see IHGMS events) 
Thursday, April 2, 6:30 p.m.-9:00 p.m.—panel discussion with outside speakers: TBD
Thursday, May 14, 6:30 p.m.-9:00 p.m.

Institute for Holocaust, Genocide, and Memory Studies' Advsiroy Board Members: Adi Gordon, Alon Confino, Amel Ahmed, Andrew Donson, Aviva Ben-Ur, Darcy Buerkle, David Mednicoff, Jamie Rowen, Jim Hicks, Jon Olsen, Jonathan Skolnik, Justin Cammy, Karen Remmler, Linda Tropp, Marla Miller, Moira Inghilleri, N.C. Christopher Couch, Olga Gershenson, Stephen Clingman, Susan Shapiro, Wenona Rymond-Richmond.