First Cohort celebrates completion of the UMass Amherst Leadership Academy

Monday, December 16, 2019

Workplace Learning and Development (WLD) is excited to announce that twenty two supervisors from various departments across campus completed the University’s Leadership Academy: Foundations of Supervision program.  This Fall, the first cohort completed the multi-modal learning program which included a total of 3 days of in-person training, 7 Moodle online courses, and a final project presentation.  The program’s instructors were Margaret Arsenault, Paul Papierski, and Melissa Scheid Frantz from WLD.

“The Foundations of Supervision really helped me to grow in many areas including how to communicate with my employees, how to understand the laws and rules dealing with the unions, and how to coach my employees to build trust and growth.  I feel much more confident that I will succeed at being a good supervisor and leader far into the future.”  David Korpiewski, The College of Information and Computer Sciences.

The new UMass Amherst Leadership Academy expands the effectiveness of supervisors, managers and leaders to strengthen their capacity to build a community of choice by aligning the University’s values and mission with a successful practice of managing people, building relationships and driving results.  The Leadership Academy is comprised of 3 programs that support current supervisors and managers at various levels providing a framework for leadership development that focuses on employee success with effective supervisory behaviors for the achievement of position, unit, and University goals.

A valuable component of the program is establishing a cohort of peers from across the University to learn from one another, problem-solve together, and to build a network of support and resources.

Applications for future program sessions are being accepted on a rolling basis for Foundations of Supervision and Essentials of Management programs. Visit Leadership Academy to learn more.


Cohort 1 graduates:

First row: L to R – Sheryl Crowe, Emily Dine, Gretchen Siegchrist, Nathalie McCormick, Lindsay McGrath, Alyssa Leonard, Alicia Clemente, Shelby Prizio, Leigh Arabik

Back Row: L to R - James Chambers, Heather Costello,  William Lizotte, Matthew Berthiaume, Joseph Nyarko, Stephanie Subocz, David Korpiewski, Jamie Taylor, Laura Jepson, Amanda D. De Leon, Karen Ayotte, Meredith Kern, Alexander Stepanov