Achievements and Accolades


Funded by the U.S. Department of State, the Rangel Fellowship supports extraordinary individuals who want to pursue a career in the Foreign Service of the U.S. Department of State.

2020 Awardees

Commonwealth Honors College is happy to celebrate the outstanding achievements of its 2020 scholarship award recipients in the 2020 Commonwealth Honors College Scholarship Award Virtual Celebration. This year, Commonwealth Honors awarded over 200 scholarships totaling more than $350,000.


Michael Nicholson ’16 will be inaugurated as the city mayor of Gardner, Massachusetts, on July 14, 2020. The inauguration will take place at 5 pm on the front lawn of Gardner City Hall at 95 Pleasant Street.


Barth, who received his bachelor’s degree with individual concentration (BDIC) in social philosophy and communication theory, will spend his time at Cambridge writing “The Theory of Everyone,” a blueprint for a world in which everyone is supported to fulfill their potential.

Undergraduate Sustainability Research Awards

The Undergraduate Sustainability Research Awards recognize students for their outstanding work in fields pertaining to environmental sustainability and innovation, promoting deeper understanding of these topics as well as insight into the strategies and resources available to conduct this research. 

dean castaneda

The Mutual Mentoring program provides funding to individuals and groups of faculty for the purpose of developing robust professional mentoring networks that support growth as researchers, teachers, and leaders in their fields.

m akli

TIDE ambassadors explore how they can enhance students’ learning and academic success across cultural, social, and learning differences by adopting a strength-based inclusive and equitable approach to teaching and learning, grounded in the value of diversity.

Stacy Smith

UMass alumna and former CHC Peer Advising Supervisor, Stacy Smith '00, found her calling in enriching the education of students.


Bryanna Freitas, Hadley Beauregard, and Hailey Charest were awarded for their product Bac-Be-Gone.

Honors Alumnae

Katherine Whitaker '05 and Cayenne Isaksen '05 received major promotions in their positions.