The University of Massachusetts Amherst
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
Academics

Public History Students

Though most students in the Public History Program are students pursuing an MA or PhD in History, students in any graduate program on campus can pursue the graduate certificate in Public History, making for a rich interdisciplinary environment. The paragraphs below include information on students who are currently working toward the Certificate in Public History as well as PhD Affiliates who have completed their MA but remain part of our Public History community writ large, having chosen to stay at UMass to pursue a PhD.

This page is intended to give a sense of the range and focus of work and career objectives among students in the Public History program. You may write to current students via email or care of the Department of History, Herter Hall, University of Massachusetts,161 Presidents Drive, Amherst, MA 01003.

Curious about what kind of careers you can have with training from UMass public history? Check out our public history alumni profiles.


Certificate Students | PhD Affiliates


Certificate Students

The students listed below are MA and PhD students from the Department of History and departments across the UMass campus who are currently pursuing the Graduate Certificate in Public History.

Photo of Jacob Boucher with microphoneMichelle Barrasso

M.A. Student, Department of History
mbarrasso@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Ross CaputiRoss Caputi

Ph.D. Student, Department of History
rcaputi@umass.edu
Bio

Zoë Cheek

Public History
zcheek@umass.edu
Bio

Will has pale skin, close cropped dark hair, and glasses.Will Conard-Malley

Public History
wconardmalle@umass.edu
Bio

Maya CunninghamMaya Cunningham

Ph.D. candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
mccunningham@umass.edu
Bio

Nick has pale skin and close cropped dark hair. He is wearing a button down shirt and is in front of a white background.Nick DeLuca

M.A. Student, Department of History
ndeluca@umass.edu
Bio

Marguerite DiGiorgioMarguerite DiGiorgio

M.A. Student, Department of History
mdigiorgio@umass.edu
Bio

Katlyn DurandKatlyn Durand

M.A. Student, Department of History
kdurand@umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Olivia EkehOlivia Ekeh

Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
oekeh@umass.edu
Bio

Tirzah Frank

Public History
tfrank@umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Yuri GamaYuri Gama

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
ygama@history.umass.edu
Bio

Maya GonzalezMaya Gonzalez

M.A. Student, Department of History
mcgonzalez@umass.edu
Bio

Alexa is a pale woman with dark brown hair wearing a black top.Alexa Harrington

M.A. Student, Department of History
amwallace@umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Kiara HillKiara Hill

Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
kiarahill@umass.edu
Bio

Devon T. KingDevon T. King

M.A. Student, Department of History
dtking@umass.edu
Bio

Stacie KlinowskiStacie Klinowski

Ph.D. Candidate, English Department
sklinowski@umass.edu
Bio

Emma Lewis

Public History, Digital History
eklewis@umass.edu
Bio

Photo of Tanya Pearson sitting on stepsTanya Pearson

Ph.D. Student, Department of History
tpearson@umass.edu
Bio

Erika SlocumbLauren Robinson

M.A. Student, Department of History
robinson@umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Camesha ScruggsCamesha Scruggs

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
cscruggs@history.umass.edu
Bio

A close up of Yelana's face, and she's wearing a blue shirt with a white scarf. Her hair is pulled back from her face.Yelana Sims

Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
ysims@umass.edu
Bio

Erika SlocumbErika Slocumb

Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
eslocumb@umass.edu
Bio

Photo of Alison Smith, who has pale skin and straight brown hair. She's wearing glasses and a white top.Allison Smith

M.A. Student, History Department
allsmith@umass.edu
Bio

Catherine White

M.A. Student, History Department
cwwhite@umass.edu
Bio

Emily has shoulder-length hair and is wearing a black top. She's in front of a grey background.Emily Whitted

U.S. History Pre-1865, History of Technology, Material Culture Studies
ewhitted@umass.edu
Bio

PhD Affiliates

On occasion, students who come to UMass to complete an MA in History with the Graduate Certificate in Public History elect to remain at UMass for the PhD. Students also come to UMass for their PhD after having studied public history elsewhere. Some of these students commit one of their three doctoral fields to Public History, and/or pursue dissertations that relate to the history of public history practice; others keep a hand in by participating in projects or contract work, and still others simply remain a resource in public history to their fellow students. Some of these PhD students are completing traditional dissertations while launching careers as public historians. Whatever direction their work takes after completing their certificates, we enjoy ongoing relationships with these students, and consider them part of our larger community of public historians on the UMass campus.

Headshot of Marwa AmerMarwa Amer

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
mamer@history.umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Brittany FrederickBrittany Frederick

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
bfrederick@history.umass.edu
Bio

Photo of Andrew Grim looking resoluteAndrew Grim

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
agrim@history.umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Cheryl HarnedCheryl Harned

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
charned@history.umass.edu
Bio

Photo of Alison Russell, who has pale skin and straight brown hair and is wearing a plaid top. Alison Russell

Ph.D. Student, Department of History
abrussell@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Chuck WeisenbergerCharles Weisenberger

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
cweisenberge@history.umass.edu
Bio

Brian WhetstoneBrian Whetstone

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
bwhetstone@umass.edu
Bio