The University of Massachusetts Amherst
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
Academics

Public History Students

Though most students in the Public History Program are students pursuing an MA or PhD in History, students in any graduate program on campus can pursue the graduate certificate in Public History, making for a rich interdisciplinary environment. The paragraphs below include information on students who are currently working toward the Certificate in Public History as well as PhD Affiliates who have completed their MA but remain part of our Public History community writ large, having chosen to stay at UMass to pursue a PhD.

This page is intended to give a sense of the range and focus of work and career objectives among students in the Public History program. You may write to current students via email or care of the Department of History, Herter Hall, University of Massachusetts,161 Presidents Drive, Amherst, MA 01003.

Curious about what kind of careers you can have with training from UMass public history? Check out our public history alumni profiles.


Certificate Students | PhD Affiliates


Certificate Students

The students listed below are MA and PhD students from the Department of History and departments across the UMass campus who are currently pursuing the Graduate Certificate in Public History.

Marisa Budlong standing in front of sunset and riverMarisa Budlong

M.A. Student, Department of History
mbudlong@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Ross CaputiRoss Caputi

Ph.D. Student, Department of History
rcaputi@umass.edu
Bio

Maya CunninghamMaya Cunningham

Ph.D. candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
mccunningham@umass.edu
Bio

Katlyn DurandKatlyn Durand

M.A. Student, Department of History
kdurand@umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Reid Ellefson-FrankReid Ellefson-Frank

M.A. Student, Department of Anthropology
rellefsonfra@umass.edu
Bio

 

Headshot of Yuri GamaYuri Gama

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
ygama@history.umass.edu
Bio

Maya GonzalezMaya Gonzalez

M.A. Student, Department of History
mcgonzalez@umass.edu
Bio

Stacie KlinowskiStacie Klinowski

Ph.D. Candidate, English Department
sklinowski@umass.edu
Bio

Hannah KuHannah Ku sitting in a museum

M.A. Student, Department of History
hku@umass.edu
Bio

Melanie Meadors

Jamie Mastrogiacomo

M.A. Student, Department of History
mmeadors@umass.edu
Bio

 

Headshot Melanie Meadors Melanie Meadors

M.A. Student, Department of History
mmeadors@umass.edu
Bio

Elizabeth Pangburn

Ph.D. Student, Department of History
tpearson@umass.edu
Bio

Tanya Pearson sitting on stoopTanya Pearson

Ph.D. Student, Department of History
tpearson@umass.edu
Bio

Camesha Scruggs standing in front of a double-doorCamesha Scruggs

Ph.D. Student, Department of History
cscruggs@history.umass.edu
Bio

Jaehee Seol wearing a green shirt, standing under a lampJaehee Seol

Ph.D. Student, Department of History
jseol@umass.edu
Bio

Yelana Sims wearing glasses and a shite scarfYelana Sims

Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
ysims@umass.edu
Bio

Abby Thomsen

M.A. Student, Department of Anthropology
athomsen@umass.edu
Bio

Brian Whetsone in a coat and scarf at the Brooklyn Bridge

Brian Whetstone

Ph.D. Student, Department of History
bwhetstone@umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Emily WhittedEmily Whitted

Ph.D. Student, Department of History
ewhitted@umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Amelia Yeager

Amelia Yeager

M.A. Student, Department of History
byeager@umass.edu
Bio

 

 

 

PhD Affiliates

On occasion, students who come to UMass to complete an MA in History with the Graduate Certificate in Public History elect to remain at UMass for the PhD. Students also come to UMass for their PhD after having studied public history elsewhere. Some of these students commit one of their three doctoral fields to Public History, and/or pursue dissertations that relate to the history of public history practice; others keep a hand in by participating in projects or contract work, and still others simply remain a resource in public history to their fellow students. Some of these PhD students are completing traditional dissertations while launching careers as public historians. Whatever direction their work takes after completing their certificates, we enjoy ongoing relationships with these students, and consider them part of our larger community of public historians on the UMass campus.

Headshot of Marwa AmerMarwa Amer

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
mamer@history.umass.edu
Bio

Photo of Andrew Grim looking resoluteAndrew Grim

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
agrim@history.umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Cheryl HarnedCheryl Harned

Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
charned@history.umass.edu
Bio

Photo of Alison Russell, who has pale skin and straight brown hair and is wearing a plaid top. Alison Russell

Ph.D. Student, Department of History
abrussell@umass.edu
Bio

Erika Slocumb hugging a young personErika Slocumb

Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
eslocumb@umass.edu
Bio