The University of Massachusetts Amherst
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
People

Ph.D. Students

This page is intended to give a sense of the range and focus of graduate student research in our department. Current dissertation titles for Ph.D. students are provisional. You may write to current students via email or care of the Department of History, Herter Hall, University of Massachusetts, 161 Presidents Drive, Amherst, MA 01003-9312.


Ph.D. | M.A. | Public History


Current Ph.D. Students

Photo of Cheney Alvarado

Cheney Alvarado
Latin America & the Caribbean; Gender & Sexuality
cmalvarado@umass.edu
Bio

No picture Marwa Amer (ABD)
Modern United States
mamer@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Mohammad Ataie

Mohammad Ataie (ABD)
Modern Middle East, Iran and Arab Relations, Persian Relations with the Levant
mataei@history.umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Amy Breimaier

Amy Breimaier (ABD)
Atlantic World, Book History, Public History
abreimai@history.umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Heather Brinn

Heather Brinn (ABD)
hbrinn@umass.edu

Bio

Portrait of Adeline Broussan Adeline Broussan (ABD)
US History, French and American Imperialism, Gender Studies
abroussan@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Justin Burch Justin Burch (ABD)
History of US International Relations, Cold War, American Empire
jeburch@history.umass.edu
Bio | Website | Twitter
Portrait of Joie Campbell Joie Campbell (ABD)
19th-20th century United States, History of Women and Gender, African American History
joielynncamp@umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Ross Caputi Ross Caputi
American History, European History
rcaputi@umass.edu
Bio

Anotida Chikumbu
achikumbu@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of James During James During
History of Memory, Vietnam War
jduring@umass.edu
Bio
Photo of Kimberly Enderle

Kimberly A. Enderle (Kim)
Twentieth Century American history, Women’s history, LGBTQ history, and Military history.
kenderle@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Jenna Febrizio Jenna Febrizio (ABD)
20th century Germany, Memory, Banned/Looted Artwork, Restitution
jfebrizio@umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Brittany Frederick

Brittany Frederick (ABD)
20th Century African American History, Public History, Civil Rights Movement and Higher Education
bfrederick@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Yuri Gama

Yuri Gama (ABD)
Modern Latin America, Modern Brazil, Urban History and Public History
ygama@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Andrew Grim Andrew Grim (ABD)
20th Century US, Urban History, Modern Europe, Public History
agrim@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Cheryl Harned

Cheryl Harned (ABD)
Colonial America, Modern United States, Cultural/Intellectual History, Early Modern History of Science 
charned@history.umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of  Carl Herzog Carl Herzog (ABD)
Early American History, Environmental History, Caribbean History
cherzog@history.umass.edu
Bio

Jason Higgins (ABD)

Modern U.S. History, African American History, Global History, Public History, and Oral History
jahiggins@umass.edu
Bio and 
CV

Photo of Sean Hough

Sean Hough
Modern Germany and the US; Comparative Memory Studies
shough@umass.edu
Bio

Ragini Jha
South Asian History, Land use and Agrarian Transition, Commemorative Practices

raginijha@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Sarah Lavallee Sarah Lavallee (ABD)
Modern Germany, South Africa, Early Modern Europe
slavallee@history.umass.edu
Bio
No picture Destiney Linker (ABD)
20th century United States, African American History, Latin America
dllinker@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Jorge Minella Jorge Minella (ABD)
Modern Brazil, 20th century Brazil-United Sates relations, Latin America
jminella@umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Shay Olmstead Shay Olmstead (ABD)
Gender and Sexuality History; Modern U.S. History with a focus on Gender, Labor, and Capitalism; Inter-American Indigenous History with a focus on economic self-determination
solmstead@umass.edu
Bio
No picture

Gaye Ozpinar

20th century U.S. Immigration History, Legal History

gozpinar@umass.edu

Bio

Tanya Pearson
20th century U.S. History, Gender and Sexuality, Latin American History
tpearson@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Anthony Repucci Anthony Repucci (ABD)
19th century United States, Civil War
arepucci@history.umass.edu
No picture John (J.D.) Roberts (ABD)
Modern Latin America, Global History, Colonial Latin America
jdrobert@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Karen Sause Karen Sause (ABD)
Native American History, Colonial America, Atlantic World
ksause@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Casey Scarpati Casey Scarpati
American Foreign Relations, the Vietnam War
cscarpati@umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Camesha Scruggs Camesha Scruggs (ABD)
20th century United States, African American History, Global Women's History
cscruggs@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Gina Talley Gina Talley (ABD)
History of Women and Gender in the United States, 20th century United States, Sex and Society in Modern Europe
gtalley@history.umass.edu
Bio

Guanhua Tan

History of Culture and Education in Twentieth Century’s China
gtan@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Jen Turner Jen Turner (ABD)
Colonial America, Poverty Studies
jaturner@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Charles Weisenberger Charles Weisenberger (ABD)
African American History, Digital History, Global History
cweisenberge@history.umass.edu
Bio
Photo of Brian Whetstone

Brian Whetstone
Public History, Historic Preservation, 20th-Century America
bwhetstone@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Bing Xia Bing Xia
20th century Chinese history
bingxia@umass.edu
Bio