The University of Massachusetts Amherst
Home / Research,... / Research Council

Research Council

The HFA Research Council was established in the fall of 2011.  Its primary responsibility is to evaluate and recommend support for college-based research funding applications. The council is also charged with recommending to the dean the College’s nominees for the Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship.

The council meets three or four times each academic year; twice in the fall and once or twice in the spring depending on the workload.  It consists of five faculty members and the Associate Dean of Research who serves in an ex officio capacity. Council members are generally invited to serve for two consecutive one-year terms.

Members of the HFA Research Council in AY 2018-19 are:

Carey Clouse, Architecture
Laura Furlan, English
Chris Meacham, Philosophy
Michael Papio, Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Eric Poehler, Classics
Joye Bowman (ex officio), History