The University of Massachusetts Amherst

Coronavirus Update: UMass Amherst has shifted to remote delivery of all instruction, having suspended in-person classes, including laboratory, studio, capstone and graduate courses, until the end of the semester. In accordance with the Governor’s emergency order, only onsite personnel should report to campus, unless contacted by a supervisor. Additional updates and resources can be found at umass.edu/coronavirus.

About

Department Chairs

Audrey Alstadt, Chair, Department of History, UMass Amherst

Audrey L. Altstadt

History


altstadt@history.umass.edu

(413) 545-2158


Herter Hall 722


View Bio

altstadt@history.umass.edu

(413) 545-2158


Herter Hall 722


View Bio
Brian Breed

Brian Breed

Classics


bbreed@classics.umass.edu

(413) 577-3479


537 Herter Hall


View Bio

bbreed@classics.umass.edu

(413) 577-3479


537 Herter Hall


View Bio
Phillip Bricker, Professor and Chair, UMass Amherst Department of Philosophy

Phillip Bricker

Philosophy


bricker@philos.umass.edu


E327 South College


View Bio
Harley Erdman, UMass Amherst Department of Theater

Harley Erdman

Theater


harley@theater.umass.edu


Fine Arts Center, Rm 103


View Bio

harley@theater.umass.edu


Fine Arts Center, Rm 103


View Bio
Randall Knoper

Randall Knoper

English


knoper@english.umass.edu

(413) 545-0644


E445B South College


View Bio

knoper@english.umass.edu

(413) 545-0644


E445B South College


View Bio
Laetitia A. La Follette

Laetitia A. La Follette

History of Art & Architecture


laelaf@arthist.umass.edu

(413) 545-0634


E301B South College


View Bio

laelaf@arthist.umass.edu

(413) 545-0634


E301B South College


View Bio
Salvatore Macchia, Chair, Department of Music and Dance, UMass Amherst

Salvatore Macchia

Music and Dance


smacchia@music.umass.edu


273 Fine Arts Center


View Bio

smacchia@music.umass.edu


273 Fine Arts Center


View Bio
Shona Macdonald

Shona Macdonald

Art


shona@umass.edu

(413) 545-1093


Studio Arts Building


View Bio

shona@umass.edu

(413) 545-1093


Studio Arts Building


View Bio
David Mednicoff

David Mednicoff

Judaic and Near Eastern Studies


mednic@umass.edu

(413) 545-5868


740 Herter Hall


View Bio

mednic@umass.edu

(413) 545-5868


740 Herter Hall


View Bio
Joe Pater

Joe Pater

Linguistics


pater@linguist.umass.edu

(413) 577-1308


ILC N454


View Bio

pater@linguist.umass.edu

(413) 577-1308


ILC N454


View Bio
Stephen Schreiber

Stephen Schreiber

Architecture


schreiber@umass.edu

(413) 577-1575


222 Design Building


View Bio

schreiber@umass.edu

(413) 577-1575


222 Design Building


View Bio
Stephanie Shonekan

Stephanie Shonekan

W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies


sshonekan@umass.edu


328 New Africa House


View Bio

sshonekan@umass.edu


328 New Africa House


View Bio
Banu Subramaniam

Banu Subramaniam

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies


banu@wost.umass.edu

(413) 545-1922


W401B South College


View Bio

banu@wost.umass.edu

(413) 545-1922


W401B South College


View Bio
Robert Sullivan

Robert Sullivan

Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


sullivan@umass.edu

(413) 545-6672



View Bio