The University of Massachusetts Amherst

GET READY FOR FALL 2021

UMass Amherst expects campus life to return to normal operations with face-to-face instruction, full residence halls, student events and activities.

Find out what to expect.

About

Department Chairs

Rajesh Bhatt, Interim Chair, Department of Linguistics, UMass Amherst

Rajesh Bhatt

Linguistics


bhatt@linguist.umass.edu

(413) 577-0797


ILC N418


View Bio

bhatt@linguist.umass.edu

(413) 577-0797


ILC N418


View Bio
Phillip Bricker, Professor and Chair, UMass Amherst Department of Philosophy

Phillip Bricker

Philosophy


bricker@philos.umass.edu


E327 South College


View Bio
Harley Erdman, UMass Amherst Department of Theater

Harley Erdman

Theater


harley@theater.umass.edu


Fine Arts Center, Rm 103


View Bio

harley@theater.umass.edu


Fine Arts Center, Rm 103


View Bio
Randall Knoper

Randall Knoper

English


knoper@english.umass.edu

(413) 545-0644


E445B South College


View Bio

knoper@english.umass.edu

(413) 545-0644


E445B South College


View Bio
Salvatore Macchia, Chair, Department of Music and Dance, UMass Amherst

Salvatore Macchia

Music and Dance


smacchia@music.umass.edu


273 Fine Arts Center


View Bio

smacchia@music.umass.edu


273 Fine Arts Center


View Bio
Shona Macdonald

Shona Macdonald

Art


shona@umass.edu

(413) 545-1093


Studio Arts Building


View Bio

shona@umass.edu

(413) 545-1093


Studio Arts Building


View Bio
David Mednicoff

David Mednicoff

Judaic and Near Eastern Studies


mednic@umass.edu

(413) 545-5868


740 Herter Hall


View Bio

mednic@umass.edu

(413) 545-5868


740 Herter Hall


View Bio
Brian Ogilvie

Brian W. Ogilvie

History


ogilvie@history.umass.edu

(413) 545-6765


618 Herter Hall


View Bio

ogilvie@history.umass.edu

(413) 545-6765


618 Herter Hall


View Bio
Monika Schmitter

Monika Schmitter

History of Art & Architecture


mainoffice@arthist.umass.edu

(413) 545-3595


W301 South College


View Bio

mainoffice@arthist.umass.edu

(413) 545-3595


W301 South College


View Bio
Stephen Schreiber

Stephen Schreiber

Architecture


schreiber@umass.edu

(413) 577-1575


222 Design Building


View Bio

schreiber@umass.edu

(413) 577-1575


222 Design Building


View Bio
James Smethurst, Chair, Afro-Am Studies, UMass Amherst

James Smethurst

W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies


jsmethur@afroam.umass.edu

(413) 545-2751


310 New Africa House


View Bio

jsmethur@afroam.umass.edu

(413) 545-2751


310 New Africa House


View Bio
Banu Subramaniam

Banu Subramaniam

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies


banu@wost.umass.edu

(413) 545-1922


W401B South College


View Bio

banu@wost.umass.edu

(413) 545-1922


W401B South College


View Bio
Robert Sullivan

Robert Sullivan

Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


sullivan@umass.edu

(413) 545-6672



View Bio
Anthony Tuck, Acting Department Chair, Department of Classics

Anthony Tuck

Classics


atuck@classics.umass.edu

(413) 545-4373


541 Herter Hall


View Bio

atuck@classics.umass.edu

(413) 545-4373


541 Herter Hall


View Bio