The Graduate School Awards 18 Dissertation Completion Fellowships

Dissertation Completion Fellowships

The Graduate School recently awarded $216,000 in Dissertation Completion Fellowships to 18 doctoral candidates. Fellowships were funded by the Graduate School with additional support from the Provost’s Office.

The Dissertation Completion Fellowship was designed by Dean of the Graduate School Jacqueline Urla to help students complete their dissertation after Covid-related disruptions. “Our graduate students have faced so many challenges due to Covid, from loss of access to labs and archives, having to redesign their research, care for small children, and even battling Covid themselves. Despite these challenges they have persevered. This fellowship gives recipients a semester to focus on their research and writing, bring their dissertation to completion, and earn their degree,” said Urla.  

Eighty-three students applied for the Dissertation Completion Fellowship; just over 20% of the applicants received funding. Fellowships were awarded to the following:

Maria Ximena Abello Hurtado, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
Elle Benjamin, Philosophy
Samantha Davis, Political Science
Olivia Ekeh, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
Laura Fattaruso, Geosciences
Shannon Gair, Psychological and Brain Sciences (Clinical Psychology)
Andrew Grim, History
Jude Hayward-Jansen, English
Sarah McCormick, Psychological & Brain Sciences
Rivu Midya, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Manish Motwani, Manning College of Information and Computer Sciences
Joshua Nugent, Biostatistics
Mariam Rashid, Educational Policy, Research, & Administration
Sheikh Muhammad Sarwar, Manning College of Information and Computer Sciences
Emily Smith, Chemistry
Amber Vayo, Political Science
Eric Vazquez Sanchez, Comparative Literature
Joshua Watson, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering