Provost Professor

Provost Professor

The title of "Provost Professor" recognizes exceptional achievement in research or creative activity, and in teaching.

This campus-level faculty honorific is designated for tenure-system faculty who hold the rank of professor and are not already in a named or distinguished professorship. This title is permanent, except if a new and permanent titled professorship is awarded (such as Distinguished Professor). Recipients also receive an an awards package of $12,500. A call for nominations from the Provost's Office take place each fall. The honorific is conferred at the annual Faculty Awards Dinner.

Selections for the 2023 Provost Professors were made by the Provost Professor Selection Committee, comprised of Distinguished Professor Lisa Green (Linguistics), Provost Professor Sonya Atalay (Anthropology), Provost Professor Muzzo Uysal (Hospitality and Tourism Management), and chaired by Senior Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs Michelle Budig.

Provost Professor Nominations: 

A call for nominations from the Provost's Office takes place in the fall.

Nominations are accepted for faculty members and/or academic administrators who hold a faculty rank. Nominations must include: 
•    A letter of nomination that addresses both excellence in creative activity/research and in teaching.
•    One external letter of support.
•    The nominee’s CV. 
In addition, the nomination package may include:
•    Up to two additional internal letters of support.

The honorific is conferred at the Faculty Awards Dinner. Recipients also receive $2,500 in add comp/research funds for each of three years, plus a one-time $5,000 award in research funds.

Questions about this process, criteria, or feedback on prior year's nominations should be directed to Senior Vice Provost Michelle Budig:

Provost Professors 2023

  • Kenneth Carter - Polymer Science and Engineering, College of Natural Sciences 
  • Robert DeConto - Earth, Geographic, and Climate Sciences, College of Natural Sciences 
  • Arindrajit Dube - Economics, College of Social & Behavioral Sciences
  • Edie Meidav - English, College of Humanities & Fine Arts
  • Shelly Peyton - Chemical Engineering, College of Engineering


Provost Professors 2022

  • Sonya Atalay - Anthropology, College of Social & Behavioral Sciences
  • Casey Brown - Civil & Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Nilanjana Dasgupta - Psychological and Brain Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
  • Joya Misra - Sociology, College of Social & Behavioral Sciences
  • Charmaine Nelson - History of Art and Architecture, College of Humanities & Fine Arts
  • Tatishe Nteta - Political Science, College of Social & Behavioral Sciences
  • Hava Siegelmann - Manning College of Information & Computer Sciences
  • Muzzo Uysal - Hospitality & Tourism Management, Isenberg School of Management