International and National Awards

International and National Awards

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Fellowship

Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for individuals who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. Fellowships are awarded through two annual competitions: one open to citizens and permanent residents of the United States and Canada, and the other open to citizens and permanent residents of Latin America and the Caribbean. Candidates must apply to the Guggenheim Foundation in order to be considered in either of these competitions.

View 2023 Guggenheim Fellowship Workshop Recording

Fellowship Recipients

  • 2023: Gretchen Holbrook Gerzina (English)
  • 2018: Felipe Salles (Music Composition)
  • 2016: Nicholas Bromell (American Literature)
  • 2014: Young Min Moon (Fine Arts)
  • 2011: Alon Confino (German and East European History)
  • 2009: Alice Harris (Linguistics)
  • 2008: Laurie Godfrey (Organismic Biology & Ecology)
  • 2007: Sabina Murray (Fiction)
  • 2006: Martin Espada (Poetry)
  • 2006: William Meeks (Mathematics)
  • 2005: Peter Gizzi (Poetry)
  • 2003: Neil Immerman (Computer Science)
  • 2003: Max Page (Architecture, Planning and Design)
  • 2000: Elizabeth Vierling (Plant Sciences)
  • 1992: Robert Hallock (Physics)
  • 1992: John McCarthy (Linguistics)
  • 1991: Dara Wier (Poetry)
  • 1986: Lila Gierasch (Molecular and Cellular Biology)

National Endowment for the Humanities

The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) is an independent federal agency created in 1965. It is one of the largest funders of humanities programs in the United States.

Because democracy demands wisdom, NEH serves and strengthens our republic by promoting excellence in the humanities and conveying the lessons of history to all Americans. The Endowment accomplishes this mission by awarding grants for top-rated proposals examined by panels of independent, external reviewers.

Grant Recipients

  • NEH 2019: Britt Rusert
  • NEH 2019: Stephen Platt
  • NEH 2018: Traci Lynnea Parker
  • NEH 2018: Alice Nash
  • NEH 2017: Skyler Arndt-Briggs
  • NEH 2017: Barton Byg
  • NEH 2016: Jane Degenhardt
  • NEH 2016: Emiliano Ricciardi
  • NEH 2015: Aviva Ben-Ur
  • NEH 2015: Sonja Drimmer
  • NEH 2015: Jenny Adams
  • NEH 2012: Sarah Cornell
  • NEH 2006: Barbara Krauthamer
  • NEH 2005: Jennifer Heuer
  • NEH 2005: Roberta Marvin 
  • NEH 2004: Julie Hayes
  • NEH 2004: Brian Ogilvie
  • NEH 2003: Barbara Krauthamer
  • NEH 2002: Gretchen Gerzina
  • NEH 2002: Ellen Pader 
  • NEH 2000: Marla Miller
  • NEH 1999: Aviva Ben-Ur
  • NEH 1993: David Glassberg
  • NEH 1990: Alice Harris  
  • NEH 1990: Joseph Levine

National Academies

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine produce groundbreaking reports that have helped shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine.

Members are elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive. Current NAS membership totals approximately 2,350 members and 485 foreign associates, of whom approximately 190 have received Nobel prizes.

NAS Members

  • NAS Member 2023: Elizabeth Vierling
  • NAS Member 2020: Daniela Calzetti
  • NAS Member 2019: Lila M. Gierasch
  • NAS Member 2015: Steve Granick
  • NAS Member 1991: Toichiro Kinoshita
  • NAS Member 1990: Richard S. Stein
  • NAS Member 1989: Barbara H. Partee

Election to National Academy of Engineering membership is one of the highest professional honors accorded an engineer. Members have distinguished themselves in business and academic management, in technical positions, as university faculty, and as leaders in government and private engineering organizations. Members are elected to NAE membership by their peers (current NAE members).

NAE Members

  • NAE Member 2020: James Kurose
  • NAE Member 2015: John Klier
  • NAE Member 2010: Laura Haas
  • NAE Member 2008: Thomas Russell
  • NAE Member 1998: William MacKnight


American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows

A member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished and who has been a continuous member for the four year period leading up to the year of nomination, may, by virtue of such meritorious contribution be elected a Fellow by the Council. In a tradition stretching back to 1874, these individuals are recognized for their extraordinary achievements across disciplines. Examples of areas in which nominees may have made significant contributions are research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, and government; and communicating and interpreting science to the public. Fellows are elected annually by the AAAS Council from the list of approved nominations from the Section Steering Groups.

AAAS Fellows:

  • AAAS 2022: Elisabeth Selkirk
  • AAAS 2021: Tricia Serio
  • AAAS 2021: Lynmarie Thompson
  • AAAS 2020: Alice Cheung
  • AAAS 2020: Triantafillos Mountziaris
  • AAAS 2020: James Staros
  • AAAS 2018: Dimitrios Maroudas
  • AAAS 2017: Angelika Kratzer
  • AAAS 2017: Prashant Shenoy
  • AAAS 2016: Linda Slakey
  • AAAS 2015: Michael Maroney 
  • AAAS 2015: John McCarthy
  • AAAS 2014: Jeffery Blaustein
  • AAAS 2014: Derek Lovley
  • AAAS 2012: Maria Santore
  • AAAS 2012: Danny Schnell
  • AAAS 2012: Gabriela Weaver
  • AAAS 2001: Sarah Pallas
  • AAAS 2011: Chul Park
  • AAAS 2010: S. Thayumanavan
  • AAAS 2009: Raymond Bradley 
  • AAAS 2009: Peter Hepler
  • AAAS 2009: Vincent Rotello
  • AAAS 2009: Lynnette Leidy Sievert
  • AAAS 2002: Thomas Russell
  • AAAS 2002: Elizabeth Vierling
  • AAAS 1996: Barbara Partee
  • AAAS 1989: Lila Gierasch

Timeline for AAAS

  • Call for Nominations: January-June
    • Submit online nominations with co-nominator
    • Two Members may nominate someone
    • International Honorary Members may be one of the co-nominators
    • The Co-Nominators must be from different institutions
  • Preliminary Evaluation Ballot: October-December
    • Vote online for candidates in your selection
    • Selection Panels review, discuss and select who goes to the appraisal list
  • Appraisal List: January-March
    • Vote for candidates across all classes and sections
    • Class Committees review results and make recommendations for election
  • Election: March-April
    • Council and Board of Directors review and approve the final slate of candidates
    • Elected Members are announced in mid-April
  • Induction: October
    • You made it!