International and National Awards

International and National Awards

National Academies

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine produce groundbreaking reports that have helped shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine.

Members are elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive. Current NAS membership totals approximately 2,350 members and 485 foreign associates, of whom approximately 190 have received Nobel prizes.

Learn about the National Academy of Sciences

NAS Members

  • NAS Member 2019: Lila M. Gierasch

Election to National Academy of Engineering membership is one of the highest professional honors accorded an engineer. Members have distinguished themselves in business and academic management, in technical positions, as university faculty, and as leaders in government and private engineering organizations. Members are elected to NAE membership by their peers (current NAE members).

Learn about the National Academy of Engineering

NAE Members

  • NAE Member 2015: John Klier
  • NAE Member 2010: Laura Haas
  • NAE Member 2008: Thomas Russell

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Fellowship

Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for individuals who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. Fellowships are awarded through two annual competitions: one open to citizens and permanent residents of the United States and Canada, and the other open to citizens and permanent residents of Latin America and the Caribbean. Candidates must apply to the Guggenheim Foundation in order to be considered in either of these competitions.

Learn about Guggenheim Fellowships

Fellowship Winners

  • GF Winner 2018: Felipe Salles
  • GF Winner 2016: Nicholas Bromell
  • GF Winner 2014: Young Moon
  • GF Winner 2011: Alon Confino
  • GF Winner 2009: Alice Harris
  • GF Winner 2007: Sabina Murray
  • GF Winners 2006: Martin Espada and William Meeks
  • GF Winner 2005: Peter Gizzi
  • GF Winners 2003: Neil Immerman and Max Page
  • GF Winner 2000: Elizabeth Vierling
  • GF Winners 1992: Robert Hallock and John McCarthy
  • GF Winner 1991: Dara Wier
  • GF Winner 1986: Lila Gierasch

    National Endowment for the Humanities

    The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) is an independent federal agency created in 1965. It is one of the largest funders of humanities programs in the United States.

    Because democracy demands wisdom, NEH serves and strengthens our republic by promoting excellence in the humanities and conveying the lessons of history to all Americans. The Endowment accomplishes this mission by awarding grants for top-rated proposals examined by panels of independent, external reviewers.

    Learn about NEH Grants

    Grant Winners

    • NEH Winner 2015: Aviva Ben-Ur
    • NEH Winner 2012: Sarah Cornell
    • NEH Winner 2006: Barbara Krauthamer
    • NEH Winners 2005: Roberta Marvin and Jennifer Heuer
    • NEH Winners 2004: Brian Ogilvie and Julie Hayes
    • NEH Winner 2003: Barbara Krauthamer
    • NEH Winners 2002: Ellen Pader and Gretchen Gerzina
    • NEH Winner 2000: Marla Miller
    • NEH Winner 1999: Aviva Ben-Ur
    • NEH Winner 1993: David Glassberg
    • NEH Winners 1990: Alice Harris and Joseph Levine

    American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellowship

    A member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished and who has been a continuous member for the four year period leading up to the year of nomination, may, by virtue of such meritorious contribution be elected a Fellow by the Council. In a tradition stretching back to 1874, these individuals are recognized for their extraordinary achievements across disciplines. Examples of areas in which nominees may have made significant contributions are research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, and government; and communicating and interpreting science to the public. Fellows are elected annually by the AAAS Council from the list of approved nominations from the Section Steering Groups.

    Learn about AAAS Fellowships

    Fellowship Winners

    • AAAS Winner 2018: Dimitrios Maroudas
    • AAAS Winner 2017: Prashant Shenoy
    • AAAS Winners 2015: Michael Maroney and John McCarthy
    • AAAS Winner 2014: Derek Lovley
    • AAAS Winners 2012: Maria Santore and Gabriela Weaver
    • AAAS Winner 2011: Chul Park
    • AAAS Winner 2010: S. Thayumanavan
    • AAAS Winners 2009: Raymond S. Bradley, Vincent Rotello, Lynnette Leidy Sievert, Peter K. Hepler
    • AAAS Winners 2002: Thomas P. Russell and Elizabeth Vierling
    • AAAS Winner 1989: Lila M. Gierasch