interior of design building
Design & Construction Management

Design & Construction Management

Design & Construction Management (DCM) is an authorized agent of the state's Division of Capital Asset Management (DCAM). DCM is responsible for all capital projects, plant adaptation, and other non-maintenance construction on state property within the University of Massachusetts Amherst. DCM is also responsible for all leasing and purchasing of non-state real estate.

DCM, utilizing a project management approach, provides the following services to the campus:

  • Project Planning: Program and schematic planning for both renovations to existing facilities and construction of new facilities, including studies for certification by DCAM.
  • Design and Construction: Design documentation and bid specifications, administration of contracts, and supervision of construction.
  • Special Services: Other facility-related services such as facilities assessment, ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) transition planning, and labor & material contracting.

DCM Team

Shelley Allen-Czepiel
Construction Engineer
Design & Construction Management
sallenczepiel@facil.umass.edu
Joseph Balzano
Project Executive
Design & Construction Management
jbalzano@facil.umass.edu
413-835-5440
Cleve Carrens
Sr. Project Manager
Design & Construction Management
ccarrens@facil.umass.edu
413-326-1660
Marcin Celmer
Sr. Project Manager
Design & Construction Management
marcin.celmer@umass.edu
413-219-6067
Gary Cromack
Sr. IT Electrical Engineer
Design & Construction Management
gcromack@umass.edu
Diane Delaronde
Office Manager
Design & Construction Management
ddelaron@facil.umass.edu
413-545-1383
Mark Dunn
Sr. Project Manager
Design & Construction Management
mtdunn@umass.edu
413-313-6980
Burt Ewart
Sr. Project Manager
Design & Construction Management
bewart@facil.umass.edu
Mike Gobeille
Sr. Project Manager
Design & Construction Management
mgobeille@umass.edu
413-992-8558
Todd Holland
Sr. Mechanical Engineer
Design & Construction Management
tholland@umass.edu
413-542-2088
Kim Jaworski-Bruschi
Project Executive
Design & Construction Management
ckjbruschi@facil.umass.edu
Nicole Joyce
Project Management Specialist
Design & Construction Management
njoyce@umass.edu
(413) 545-6557
Carl Larson
Surveyor/GIS Administrator
Design & Construction Management
carll@facil.umass.edu
413-658-7682
William Lizotte
Project Executive
Design & Construction Management
wlizotte@facil.umass.edu
413-687-1196
Steve Lobik
Sr. Project Manager
Design & Construction Management
slobik@facil.umass.edu
413-326-1651
Nicholas Macy
Sr. Project Manager
Design & Construction Management
nmacy@umass.edu
413-207-2256
Ted Mendoza
Sr. Project Manager
Design & Construction Management
tmendoza@facil.umass.edu
413-362-9287
Sean Milligan
Sr. Project Manager
Design & Construction Management
smilligan@umass.edu
413-687-1854
Blair Nahm
Sr. Project Manager
Design & Construction Management
bnahm@umass.edu
Patricia Parenteau
Construction Archives & Records Manager
Design & Construction Management
pparenteau@admin.umass.edu
413-545-6495
Stewart Scannell
Project Manager II
Design & Construction Management
sdscannell@umass.edu
Todd Spooner
Resident Engineer
Design & Construction Management
tspooner@umass.edu
413-658-5305
William Spooner
Construction Engineer
Design & Construction Management
wspooner@umass.edu