In accordance with Massachusetts regulations, capacity limits and other restrictions are in effect for in-person campus events. Please see Campus Event Guidance for Spring 2021 for more details.

Performance: 'O Fortuna' by Symphony Band and Percussion Ensemble

Event Details

May 1, 2017
7:30 pm

Fine Arts Center Concert Hall

UMass Amherst Campus

Handicap access available
$3 UMass students; $5 other students, seniors & children; $10 general public
Box Office

The Department of Music and Dance presents the Symphony Band and Percussion Ensemble in O Fortuna, conducted by Matthew Westgate and Ayano Kataoka.

Music on the program's first half will feature Orff's Carmina Burana (arr. Krance), Woolfenden's Illryian Dances (David Morris, conductor) and Brahms's  Blessed Are They (arr. Buehlman; Matt Sypek, conductor);

For their portion of the May 1 concert, the Percussion Ensemble will perform  Lukas Ligeti’s Pattern Transformation, John Cage’s Third Construction; and George Crumb’s American Songbook II: A Journey Beyond Time with guests Amanda Lauricella (mezzo-soprano), Matthew Garrity (baritone) & Kristen Flanagan (piano).  

Event Category

Music Music Performance