Skip to main content

Learn more about the fellowship:

The purpose of this fellowship is to attract to our Program the best Ph.D. candidates in Composition and Rhetoric. Specifically, the endowment stipulates that it be awarded to “one or more incoming graduate students in the Department of English, whose special field is the study of Composition and Rhetoric and whose pursuit of further study in the field springs from an interest in classroom teaching.” 

The Fellowship was first endowed in 2006 with a gift from Charlie and Kay Moran and additional gifts from former students and friends. Thanks to continued contributions, including from the Morans and Anne Herrington and Tina Plette, it has continued to grow. When Anne retired, Charlie and Kay proposed renaming the Fund, thereby honoring Charlie and Anne’s many collaborations, including in work with graduate students over the years.

As a recruitment tool, the fellowship offers new students both financial support and time to focus on their studies in that all important first year. About receiving the fellowship, Liane Malinowski has said that “receiving it helped me to feel like I would be a valued member of the community once I was a student here.” Christian Pulver comments that it was “a great honor. Not only did it provide welcome financial support, it also affirmed in me the need for continued research on the impact computer technologies are having on our literacy practices.”

Make a gift to the Moran-Herrington Fellowship

Recipients of the Moran-Herrington Fellowship 

2023: Maryam Amiri, Danyea West, Othniel Williams

2021: Oscar Garcia

2020: Robert Murray

2019: Chi Nguyen

2018: Stacie Klinowski, Jackie Ordway

2017: Ashley Canter, Mikala Jones

2016: Kyle Piscioniere 

2015: Thomas Pickering

2013: Florianne Jimenez, Benjamin Zender

2012: Courtney Gustafson

2010: Travis Grandy 

2009: Jessica Ouellette 

2008: Liane Malinowski

2007: Christopher DiBiase 

2006: Christian Pulver