Twelve Faculty Selected as 2019-20 TIDE Ambassadors

The UMass Institute for Teaching Excellence and Faculty Development (TEFD) has named 12 winners of the 2019-20 TIDE Ambassadors (Teaching for Inclusiveness, Diversity and Equity) faculty fellowship award.

Throughout the program year, participants will explore how they can enhance students’ learning and academic success across cultural, social and learning differences by adopting a strength-based, inclusive and equitable approach to teaching and learning grounded in the value of diversity.

The 2019-20 faculty fellows represent a wide range of disciplines and teaching interests:

Anna Floch Arcello, writing program, College of Humanities and Fine Arts

Andrea Ayvazian, health promotion and policy, School of Public Health & Health Sciences

Adena Calden, mathematics and statistics, College of Natural Sciences

Molly Christie Gonzalez, music and dance, College of Humanities and Fine Arts

Jonique Childs, student development, College of Education

Adam Dahl, political science, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Marialuisa Di Stefano, teacher education and curriculum studies, College of Education

Xian Du, mechanical and industrial engineering, College of Engineering

Karine Fenelon, biology, College of Natural Sciences

Karen Kurczynski, history of art and architecture, College of Humanities and Fine Arts

Katherine Reeves, biostatistics and epidemiology, School of Public Health and Health Sciences

Neena Thota, Computer Informatics and Computer Sciences

The Institute for Teaching Excellence and Faculty Development (TEFD) supports the professional development of faculty across all career stages and disciplines with a wide range of programs and resources focused on teaching, mentoring, scholarly writing, tenure preparation, leadership and work/life balance.

For more information on the TIDE Ambassadors Faculty Fellowship Program, please contact Kirsten Helmer at