Carow, Stefan


Stefan Carow was raised in East Berlin, where he focused on music and became an accomplished pianist. He performed concerts both in Europe and the US. His film scores include DEFA titles such as Gritta von Rattenzuhausbeiuns, Die Schauspielerin, Coming Out, Verfehlung and Vater Mutter Mörderkind. Based in Los Angeles since 1989, Carow has more recently focused on scriptwriting and was a semi-finalist for the 2004 Nicholl Fellowship in Screenwriting and the 2007 Fade In Awards.


Festivals & Awards:

1988 Busoni Composition Award, by the Academy of the Arts in Berlin


1999 Childhood
1993 Vater Mutter Mörderkind (transl. Father Mother Murderchild, TV)
1991 Verfehlung (The Mistake)
1991 Begräbnis einer Gräfin (trans. Funeral of a Countess, TV)
1989 Coming Out
1988 Die Schauspielerin (The Actress)
1986 So viele Träume (So Many Dreams)
1984 Gritta von Rattenzuhausbeiuns (Gritta of Rat's Castle)

Shibboleth login