Engel, Christoph


Christoph Engel, actor and director, was born on November 13, 1925 in Worms, Germany. He acted and directed at a student theater while studying in Frankfurt am Main and Mainz. Early theater work included engagements at the Berliner Ensemble (1951), the Theater in Halle (1953), and the Potsdamer Theater (1956). Since 1963 Engel has been at the Berlin Maxim-Gorki Theater.
As a DEFA film actor, Engel’s debut was under the direction of Konrad Wolf in Einmal ist keinmal . He later appeared in many film and television productions. He became popular in the leading role of the TV series Dr. Schlüter. Engel’s most important DEFA role was in Rainer Simon’s family saga, Wengler & Söhne. The only movie Engel directed was the 1960 children’s film, Rumpelstilskin.
Since the fall of the Wall, Engel has been in films by director Andreas Kleinert, such as Wege in die Nacht, and in well-loved TV series, such as Tatort and St. Angela. He also occasionally appears as a guest on stages in Frankfurt am Main and Hamburg.



2007 Kinder, Kinder (Children, TV series)
2006 Pastewka (TV series)
2002 Edel & Stark (Noble and Powerful, TV series)
1998-2002 St. Angela (TV series)
2001 Liebesaus – Die andere Heimat (Liebesaus – The Different Homeland, TV series)
1999 Klemperer – Ein Leben in Deutschland (Klemperer – A Life in Germany)
1999 Wege in die Nacht (Paths into the Night)
1993-1997 Tartort (Crime Scene, TV series)
1992 Verlorene Landschaft (Lost Landscape)
1990 Die Architekten (The Architects)
1989 Leb’ wohl, Joseph (Farewell, Joseph)
1989 Die Besteigung des Chimborazo (The Ascent of Chimborazo)
1988 Die Beteiligten (The Persons Involved)
1986 Wengler & Söhne  Eine Legende (Wengler & Sons: A Legend)
1986 Blonder Tango (Blond Tango)
1981 Die Beunruhigung (Apprehension)
1981 Wäre die Erde nicht rund (Were the Earth Not Round)
1980 Als Unku Edes Freundin war (When Unku was Ede's Friend)
1979 Addio, piccolo mia 
1979 Chiffriert an Chef – Ausfall Nr. 5 (Coded Message for the Boss)
1978 Für Mord kein Beweis (No Proof of Murder)
1977 Feuer unter Deck (Fire Below Deck)
1974 Liebe mit 16 (Love at 16)
1967 Geschichten jener Nacht: Der große und der kleine Willi (Stories of that Night: Two Wills)
1967 Der tapfere Schulschwänzer (The Valiant Truant)
1965/90 Das Kaninchen bin ich (The Rabbit Is Me)
1964 Der geteilte Himmel (Divided Heaven)
1963 Schwarzer Samt (Black Velvet)
1963 Nackt unter Wölfen (Naked Among Wolves)
1962 Geheimarchiv an der Elbe (Secret Files)
1960 Das Zaubermännchen (Rumpelstilskin, director)
1955 Einmal ist keinmal (Once Does Not Count)

Shibboleth login