The Cuban Masterworks Collection

(The Cuban Masterworks Collection, Five Classics)

Cuba/Spain, n/a
In Spanish; English subtitles


A 5-DVD set with five masterworks from revolutionary Cuba. Beautifully restored with new English subtitles and directed by three legendary filmmakers – Tomás Gutiérrez Alea, Julio García Espinosa and Humberto Solás – they reveal a cinema unavailable to most people in the USA.


Each film is a worthy addition to the canon of great world cinema, and rare special features further enhance our understanding of the rich historical and cultural heritage from which they emerged. The boxed set includes five feature films on separate DVDs; please see individual film pages for more information on films and special features.


This collection includes the following titles:

  • The Adventures of Juan Quin Quin (Espinosa, 1967)
    Comedic Juan Quin Quin embodies Espinosa's "theory for an imperfect cinema."
  • Amada (Solás, 1982)
    A woman seeks happiness between class expectations after WWI.
  • Cecilia (Solás, 1981)
    A controversial adaptation of a Cuban classic novel that portrays slavery and colonialism in the 1830s.
  • A Successful Man (Cuba/Spain, Solás, 1986)
    Two brothers embody the struggle between corruption and innocence in pre-revolutionary Cuba.
  • The Twelve Chairs (Alea, 1962)
    A Cuban revolutionary comedy based on the internationally-known story.


(This film is ONLY available for sale on DVD and for research rentals. It may not be rented for a non-commercial public performance screening.)


DVD Bonus Features:
  • Short Cuban Films & Documentaries
  • Photo Galleries
  • Biographies & Filmographies

Shibboleth login