June, 2008
Research by Professor Maria Santore and Colleagues Highlighted in Nature Nanotechnology

Polymer scientist Maria Santore and her colleagues have developed a novel surface containing tiny nanoparticles that can capture and manipulate much larger particles in a flowing solution with great precision. Santore’s research, performed in collaboration with chemist Vincent Rotello and chemical engineer Jeffrey Davis, was recently featured in Nature Nanotechnology.

June, 2008
Plastics Containing 'Smart Elements' Can Detect Mercury in Water, says Researchers

Campus researchers, led by Professor Greg Tew of UMass Amherst Polymer Science & Engineering, have developed plastics containing “smart elements” that can instantly detect the presence of mercury at or below the drinking water standard set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, even when other metals are present in the solution.

April, 2008
Professor Al Crosby Receives 2008 Rohm & Haas New Faculty Award

Professor Al Crosby has received the 2008 Rohm & Haas New Faculty Award. According to the Rohm & Haas website, "The Rohm and Haas TCO New Faculty Award recognizes a non-tenured faculty member at an accredited university for his/her outstanding research achievement or potential in chemistry, polymers or materials science. Candidate nominations and selection of the award recipient are conducted by Rohm and Haas technologists.". Congratulations Al!

March, 2008
Assistant Professor Ryan Hayward Receives $475K Career Award from NSF

Ryan Hayward, assistant professor of Polymer Science and Engineering, has received a five-year, $475,000 CAREER grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to conduct research on hydrogels, materials that can absorb hundreds of times their weight in water and undergo huge changes in volume.

February, 2008
Professor Thomas Russell Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

On February 8, 2008, the National Academy of Engineering announced the election of 65 new members as well as 9 foreign associates. According to the NAE Release statement, "Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

January, 2008
Research Images Featured in Art Exhibit at Science & Engineering Library

"Images from VISUAL,” an exhibit of works from the Ventures in Science Using Art Laboratory (VISUAL), is on display through April 29 at the Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library in the Lederle Graduate Research Center lowrise.

November, 2007
Professor Al Crosby To Receive Young Adhesion Scientist Award

At the upcoming Adhesion Society meeting, Professor Al Crosby will be honored with the Adhesion Society’s Young Adhesion Scientist Award. This is the first time this award will be given. The purpose of the Young Adhesion Scientist Award is to recognize a young scientist or engineer for conducting outstanding and fundamental research in adhesion science. Congratulations all!

October, 2007
Professor Greg Tew Receives 2007 Herman F. Mark Young Scholar Award

At the 234th ACS National Meeting and Exposition in Boston , MA , August 2007, Professor Gregory N. Tew was awarded the 2007 Herman F. Mark Young Scholar Award by the American Chemical Society Division of Polymer Chemistry. Professor Tew received the award from the Division Chair James Moore. Congratulations Greg!

September, 2007
Professor James Watkins Receives Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Research and Creative Activity

Professor James Watkins will receive the Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Research and Creative Activity at the 2007 UMass Amherst Faculty Convocation on September 21, 2007. This is the third year the Chancellor and Provost will be granting these awards. Chancellor Cole and Provost Seymour will honor these eight distinguished faculty members at the Convocation. A luncheon will follow the ceremony. Also honored will be John J. Clement, Teacher Education and Curriculum; Eric A. Decker, Department of Food Science; Walter B. Denny, Art Department; Nancy Folbre, Economics Department; Patty S. Freedson, Kinesiology Department; Jeffrey W. Holmes, Department of Music and Dance; Sabina Murray, English Department. Congratulations to Professor Watkins on his accomplishment.

September, 2007
Professor Shaw Ling Hsu Receives Outstanding Leadership Award

Professor Shaw Ling Hsu received the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Outstanding Leadership Award at the NSM Convocation on September 4, 2007. The award was given to Professor Hsu by Dean George M. Langford who remarked on Professor Hsu’s outstanding leadership during the 2006-2007 academic year. Also in attendance at the NSM Convocation were President Jack Wilson, Interim Chancellor Thomas W. Cole, Jr. and Provost Charlena Seymour.