Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching

2019 Manning Prize winner Wilmore Webley with Chancellor Subbaswamy, Donna and Robert Manning, and President Meehan.

The Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching honors one outstanding faculty member from each of the five campuses of the University of Massachusetts.  Now in its fifth year, this competitive prize is presented to faculty members who demonstrate excellence in teaching along with exemplary dedication to students and the campus community. President Meehan will host a luncheon celebrating the achievements of the selected faculty members, each presented with a $10,000 award.

Manning Prize Winners

2018 Manning Prize winner Linda Isbell with Chancellor Subbaswamy, Donna and Robert Manning, and President Meehan.


Haivan Hoang at the 2017 Manning Prize Luncheon

2017 Manning Prize winner Haivan Hoang with Chancellor Subbaswamy, Donna and Robert Manning, and President Meehan.



All full time, tenure-system and non-tenure-system faculty members are eligible to receive this award.


  • Nominations due December 13, 2019
  • Applications and letters of support due Friday, January 24, 2020 5:00 PM.
  • Notification of winner and other nominees approximately March 31, 2020.

Selection criteria

  • Sustained excellence in teaching demonstrated through inclusive and high-impact teaching practices that actively engage diverse students.
  • Exemplary contribution to the campus community, including mentoring colleagues, sharing best practices, scholarship, and other forms of leadership contributing to excellence in teaching and learning.
  • Outstanding record of supporting students’ achievement of educational and career goals through mentoring and advising, especially students from underrepresented groups.


Scott Auerbach at the 2016 Manning Prize Luncheon

2016 Manning Prize winner Scott Auerbach with Chancellor Subbaswamy, Donna and Robert Manning, and President Meehan.


Nomination & Application Process

Dept. Nominations: Each department may nominate one faculty member. Nomination of previous College Outstanding Teaching Award and Distinguished Teaching Award winners is encouraged, however faculty with compelling contributions to teaching and learning who have not won either of these awards are welcome. Nominations are due December 13, 2019.  Nominators please use the provided link below to submit the name of your department nominee. 

Submit Name of Department Nominee  (Nominations closed for FY20.  Thank you.)


Nominee Applications: All nominees will be notified by CTL and may submit applications and invite letters of support, all due January 24, 2020 at 5:00 PM.  These materials should include and not exceed:

  1.  Cover sheet outlining contents of the application package, each item described with no more than 100‐words.
  2. Teaching statement detailing beliefs and practices about teaching, learning, and mentoring, and directly addressing the selection criteria below. Must not exceed 2,000 words.
  3. Three student support letters (letters written within last 2 years, though the relationship may be older).
  4. Two peer/faculty support letters.
  5. One chair/head support letter.
  6. Supplemental materials: One syllabus developed by applicant, the applicant’s curriculum vitae, and up to three other documents of applicant’s choosing as evidence of outstanding teaching practices and mentoring.

Submission instructions: Please note: materials that exceed the stated word counts will be truncated at the stipulated word count and information after that point will not be considered. Letter writers may use the link below to submit their letters of support.

(*UMass log-in required.  If you are a letter writer who is not currently UMass-affiliated, please email your letter to )

Selection Committee 

  • Two faculty members
  • One undergraduate student
  • One graduate student
  • One CTL staff member
  • One Office of the Provost representative

PDF version of this Manning Prize process.