Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching

2019 Manning Prize winner Wilmore Webley with Chancellor Subbaswamy, Donna and Robert Manning, and President Meehan.

2020 Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching - Open for nominations soon!

The Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching honors outstanding faculty members who demonstrate excellence in teaching along with exemplary dedication to students and the campus community.  The Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching award was established in 2015 and is presented annually to one faculty member from each of the five campuses of the University of Massachusetts with a $10,000 award.

President Meehan will host a luncheon celebrating the achievements of the selected faculty members. The luncheon will take place on Wednesday, June 24, 2020. 

Manning Prize Winners

Haivan Hoang at the 2017 Manning Prize Luncheon

2017 Manning Prize winner Haivan Hoang with Chancellor Subbaswamy, Donna and Robert Manning, and President Meehan.

Scott Auerbach at the 2016 Manning Prize Luncheon

2016 Manning Prize winner Scott Auerbach with Chancellor Subbaswamy, Donna and Robert Manning, and President Meehan.


All full time, tenure-system and non-tenure-system faculty members are eligible to receive this award.

Nomination & Application Process

Nomination: Each department may nominate one faculty member. Nomination of previous College Outstanding Teaching Award and Distinguished Teaching Award winners is encouraged, however faculty with compelling contributions to teaching and learning who have not won either of these awards are welcome. Nominations are due December 13, 2019

Application: All nominees will be notified by the Center for Teaching & Learning (CTL) and may submit applications and invite letters of support, all due January 24, 2020 5:00 PM. These materials should include and not exceed: 

  1.  A recent CV
  2.  Teaching statement detailing beliefs and practices about teaching, learning, and mentoring, and directly addressing the selection criteria below. Must not exceed 2,000 words;
  3.  Three student support letters (letters written within last 2 years, though the relationship may be older);
  4.  Two peer/faculty support letters;
  5.  One chair/head support letter;
  6.  Supplemental materials: One syllabus developed by applicant and up to four other documents of applicant’s choosing as evidence of effective teaching practices and mentoring.

Submission instructions*:  Please submit all nominations, application materials, and letters of support directly to Manning Prize.   (Note: materials that exceed the stated word counts will be truncated at the stipulated word count and information after that point will not be considered). Please contact with any questions.  



  • Nominations due December 13, 2019.
  • Applications and letters of support due January 24, 2020 5:00 PM.
  • Notification of winner and other nominees approximately March 31, 2020.


Selection Criteria

  • Sustained excellence in teaching demonstrated through inclusive and high-impact teaching practices that actively engage diverse students.
  • Exemplary contribution to the campus community, including mentoring colleagues, sharing best practices, scholarship, and other forms of leadership contributing to excellence in teaching and learning.
  • Outstanding record of supporting students’ achievement of educational and career goals through mentoring and advising, especially students from underrepresented groups.


Selection Committee 

  • Two faculty members
  • Two students, one undergraduate and one graduate
  • One Center for Teaching & Learning (CTL) staff member
  • One Office of the Provost representative

PDF version of this Manning Prize process.

For more information, contact the Manning Prize Committee