"Refund" is defined as the returning of monies already paid, and/or removing charges that have been posted to a student's account, even if they have not yet been paid. In order to receive a refund for any class, student must have officially dropped the class by specified deadlines (see below) via:
$47 ($26 for non-credit class) registration fee is non-refundable, except when all other charges for a term are refunded.
- 100% refund for classes officially dropped by end of Add/Drop for that term, session, or class (whichever applies)
- 50% refund of CPE class fee only for classes officially withdrawn from between the Add/Drop date and the Withdrawal end date (mid-semester).
- All charges will remain on the student's account for classes dropped after the Withdrawal period.
- For classes that run more than one week: 100% refund through the day after class begins (e.g. if class begins on Monday, 100% refund if officially dropped by end-of-day Tuesday); then no refund.
- For classes that run one week or less: 100% refund through the day before class begins; then no refund.
Some programs may have different refund policies which supersede these standard ones. If such a policy exists, it will be incorporated into program materials provided to all prospective and enrolled students in those programs, and displayed in the Restriction/Notes section on the class in SPIRE.
Students residing in Maryland may receive refunds for online courses delivered through Continuing & Professional Education in accordance with Maryland law.
Students who must withdraw from all of their classes during a full term or session for medical reasons should request a health withdrawal from University Health Services (UHS). Typically, health withdrawals are granted as of the last date of attendance. Refunds are provided in accordance with the above practices, so that students withdrawn as of the beginning of the term would have all charges removed; those withdrawn as of the end of the term remain responsible for all charges.
Exception: Students who are called to active duty military service after the end of the Add/Drop period. Documentation of being called up for active service during the term must be received by the CPE Registration office within one year of the beginning of the term in question.