Junior Awards

Scholarships Available through the Chemistry Department


ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry - The award is for those with interest in analytical chemistry and to recognize students who display an aptitude for a career in the field. The award consists of a personalized certificate and a one-year membership to the ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry. Students enrolled in CHEM 315 will be automatically considered by the faculty nominators, no application required.

ACS-Hach Scientific Scholarship – Awarded to two undergraduate chemistry majors who are full-time students with a cumulative 3.0 GPA or better, are U.S. citizens or permanent residents, and have a commitment to becoming a high school chemistry teacher. Preference is given to students with demonstrated need as determined by the Financial Aid Office. Recipients will be known as ACS-Hach Land Grant Scholars and must agree to provide the donor with brief statements describing their career status annually for five years after graduation. Approximately $10,000 award. Open to US citizens or permanent residents. AcademicWorks application required.

ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Inorganic Chemistry – Award recognizes demonstrated excellence in inorganic chemistry based on any combination of research, coursework, and /or motivation, interest, and should have future plans that include a career in chemistry. Each student nominated will receive a certificate and letter of commendation from the Chair of the Division of Inorganic Chemistry. The awardee’s name and nominating institution will be posted on a list that will be available on the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry website. If interested, a Faculty member nomination is required.

ACS Physical Chemistry Division Undergraduate Award – Award recognizes outstanding achievement by undergraduate students in physical chemistry, and to encourage further pursuits in the field. The nominee will have demonstrated excellence in physical chemistry and related fields based on research, coursework, and/or dedication as defined by the nominating institution. The student should be committed to a career in chemistry, as broadly defined (e.g. research, education, industry, etc.). The award consists of an official certificate from the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry, recognition on the division’s website, a one-year complimentary membership in the Division of Physical Chemistry. Faculty nomination, no application.

Dr. Uche Anyanwu Memorial Fund – Awarded to the top three posters by chemistry majors at the Undergraduate Research Poster Session. Established by Dr. Ucheoma O. Akobundu to honor her late husband, who was part of the DV Group.This award is $100. Awarded by Selection Committee. Students must submit abstracts via AcademicWorks.

Michael Bruno Chemistry Scholarship – Scholarship support for an undergraduate student in the department of chemistry with a minimum GPA of 3.0 and demonstrated financial need. Preference for a student who is a resident of Massachusetts. AcademicWorks application required.

J.F.B. Fund for Undergraduate Research – The award includes $3,000 for summer research for a chemistry major of high academic achievement for research support in the department. Made possible by the gift of Juanita Bradspies, chemistry major, class of 1959. If interested, a Faculty member recommendation and AcademicWorks application are required.

John A. Chandler Memorial Scholarship – Award provides scholarships for undergraduate students, honors the late Professor Chandler and was established by his wife. Criteria for the scholarship are: (1) the recipient must be entering his/her senior year with a major in chemistry; (2) the recipient must have at least a 3.0 grade point average; (3) preference is given to a student who plans on pursuing a career in teaching; and (4) preference is given to a student who participates as a tutor in the Supplemental Instruction (SI) program. Approximately $1,000 award. Interested students should apply in their junior year via AcademicWorks.

Chemistry Undergraduate Research Fund – The award for the Department of Chemistry Undergraduate Research is funded by donations. The award is given to a chemistry major of high academic achievement to support research in the department. If interested, a Faculty nomination and AcademicWorks application are required.

Sir Harold W. Kroto & Steve F. A. Acquah GEOSET Award – Awarded to a chemistry major who has demonstrated excellence in science communication through digital media. Approximately $400 award. AcademicWorks application required.

Jay A. Pirog Scholarship - Annual award to a chemistry major who has a financial need and maintains a 3.2 GPA. Established in memory of a former student by his mother and raised funds. By Award Selection Committee only. 

Positron Award - Honors Professors Dhandapani Venkataraman and Justin Fermann and promotes teaching and research. The award is given to a student who shows a strong interest in Chemistry, has exhibited leadership, has contributed to teaching and research, has given back to the community, and has clear future goals. AcademicWorks application is required, self-nomination, faculty and peer nominations.

Professor Jack Ragle Endowed Fund in Chemistry – Awarded to a chemistry major of high academic achievement for summer research in physical chemistry. Made possible by the generous gift of chemistry alum, Dr. Edward P. Marram '59, '61MS. Approximately $4,000 award. If interested, a Faculty member recommendation and AcademicWorks application are required.

George Richason, Jr. Scholarship for Distinguished Undergraduate TA (In Honor of Earl J. McWhorter and George R. Richason, Jr.) – Honors the late professor and alumnus, and is awarded for excellence in teaching as recognized by students and faculty. Nominated by faculty and students.

Edward Shapiro Fund - Scholarships based on need and scholarship to a son or daughter of a New England Nuclear employee, son or daughter of a Massachusetts subsidiary of Dupont, or, if no candidates from these two categories, a chemistry major at any of the UMass campuses. Awarded to students who are matriculated at UMass, chemistry majors, and in the freshman to junior classes. Awards are 2-5 awards of $600 each. By Award Selection Committee only (no application or nomination required).

Mr. Tompkins Award – Awarded to two chemistry majors who have shown devotion to the discipline by success in the research lab. $150 prize. If interested, a Faculty member recommendation and AcademicWorks application are required.

Oliver Zajicek Memorial Scholarship Award – Honors the late faculty member and is awarded to a chemistry major who has demonstrated excellence in research in analytical chemistry. Awardee selected by the Analytical Division Faculty. Approximately $400 award. If interested, a Faculty member nomination and AcademicWorks application are required.

Other Scholarships Available

National Science Foundation