In the News

Stein-Convestro Seminar November 30th

Stein-Convestro Seminar
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Professor Karen Wooley, Texas A&M
Departments of Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, and Materials Science & Engineering
"Expanding the Scopes of Synthetic Organic and Polymer Chemistries: Utilization of the inherent stereochemical and functional diversities of natural products to produce unique materials"
Host: Michelle Farkas
11:30 a.m. LGRT 1634

Professor Howard Stidham (1925-2017)

Professor Howard D. Stidham, 92, passed away November 13, 2017. He was a valued member of the UMass Chemistry Department for 61 years, specializing in physical chemistry and Raman spectroscopy until his retirement this past August.

Rotello Serves as Guest Professor in Beijing

In a trip to Beijing in October 2017, Professor Vincent Rotello from the Department of Chemistry was appointed as a Guest Professor at the National Center for Nanoscience and Technology of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He also gave an Institute-wide Molecular Sciences Forum presentation at the Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences. Both of these Centers are the top institution in their respective area in China, and are highly ranked internationally.

The photos shows Prof. Rotello receiving the Molecular Sciences Forum from Prof. Lanqun Mao, Deputy Director of the Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Design Building at UMass Amherst Named for Former U.S. Rep. John W. Olver

The new Design Building at the University of Massachusetts Amherst has been named the John W. Olver Design Building in honor of the retired congressman and former UMass Amherst chemistry professor.

Maroney Honored at 2017 Faculty Convocation

Michael Maroney was one of eight faculty who received the Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Research and Creativity at the 13th Annual Faculty Convocation on Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at the Campus Center Auditorium.

Dubin Delivers Keynote at ELKIN 2017

Paul Dubin gave a keynote lecture at 12th International Symposium on Electrokinetics in Dresden, Germany on September 12, 2017.  The title of his lecture was "Heparin: Paradigm, Outlier, Biopolyelectrolyte."

Vachet Receives Grant to Study, Prevent Protein Aggregation

Richard Vachet, Chemistry, received a four-year, $1.2 million grant from the National Institutes of Health to continue his group’s study of the aggregation by βeta-2-microglobulin (β2m), the protein that forms amyloid fibril deposits in the joints of patients with kidney disease who are undergoing dialysis.

Thayumanavan Receives $1.8 Million for Center for Autonomous Chemistry

Sankaran “Thai” Thayumanavan, Chemistry, has received a three-year, $1.8 million grant from the National Science Foundation to create a multi-university Center for Autonomous Chemistry, where he and colleagues including Vince Rotello, also Chemistry, will seek to design artificial self-activating systems.

Annual Mahoney Life Sciences Prize Established for CNS Faculty

The College of Natural Sciences (CNS) has announced the establishment of the Mahoney Life Sciences Prize, an annual competition for CNS scientists engaged in high-impact applied life sciences research.

Gierash and Team Simulate a Protein-Folding Chaperone’s Functional Dance

Using a combination of computational and experimental techniques, a UMass Amherst research team led by molecular biologist Lila Gierasch has demystified the pathway of interdomain communication in a family of proteins known as Hsp70s – a top target of dozens of research laboratories trying to develop new anti-cancer drugs, antibiotics and treatments for Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases.

Andrew Makes Wearable Devices a Reality

Trisha Andrew and colleagues outline in a recent publicaton how they have invented a way to apply breathable, pliable, metal-free electrodes to fabric and off-the-shelf clothing so it feels good to the touch and also transports enough electricity to power small electronics.

Rotello's Nanoparticles Resurrect Antibacterial Drugs

Vincent Rotello's research using nanomaterials to deliver drugs to could be a way to help prevent bacterial resistance to antibiotic drugs.