In the News

diversity and respect image

Building a Community of Dignity and Respect

The University of Massachusetts Amherst believes that a culturally diverse campus is integral to academic excellence and that our students, faculty, and staff should reflect the diverse world in which we live. Recognizing and valuing the wide range of voices and perspectives in all spheres of the academic enterprise, we are committed to policies that promote inclusiveness, social justice, and respect for all.

“Fostering an environment that protects intellectual exploration, advances mutual respect, and promotes inclusivity is critical to the mission of the university.” — Chancellor Kumble R. Subbaswamy

The UMass Office of Diversity Equity and Inclusion supports these efforts with resources, events, campus climate initiatives, podcasts, and more.

Antiracism Resources - Books, podcasts, movies, and programs for adults and children.
Fight Hate - Our community must stand united in the face of hate.

Building Bridges is a campus initiative that seeks to draw on the power of solidarity and creative expression to bring people together across race, religion, class, immigration status, gender, sexual orientation, age, ability, nationality and more.

photo of Prof. Vincent Rotello

Rotello Recognized as Highly Cited Researcher

NOBCChE logo

New NOBCChE Chapter at UMass Amherst

photo of Prof. Michelle Farkas

Farkas Named 2023-24 ADVANCE Faculty Fellow

photo of peter lillya

In Memoriam: Prof. Peter Lillya

photo of Min Chen

Chen Receives Manning/IALS Innovation Awards

photo of Rachid Skouta

Skouta Receives Manning/IALS Innovation Award

photo of Prof. Lynmarie Thompson

Thompson Elected President of Biophysical Society


Biophysical Society Announces the Results of its 2023 Elections

ROCKVILLE, MD – Lynmarie K. Thompson has been elected President-elect of the Biophysical Society (BPS). She will assume the office of President-elect at the 2024 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and begin her term as President during the 2025 Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, California.

Thompson is a Professor of Chemistry at the University of Massachusetts Amherst (UMass). She earned her undergraduate degree in chemistry from the California Institute of Technology and her PhD in Chemistry from Yale University. Thompson also serves as the Director of the University of Massachusetts Amherst Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program, a role she has held since 2000.

“The Biophysical Society’s mission is built around the goals of promoting and disseminating scientific research at the interface of the physical and life sciences and building scientific careers and communities. I am honored to have this opportunity to help lead the Society in this important work,” said Thompson. “We are both witnesses to and participants in an amazing period of rapidly accelerating advances in science – critical science for both the preservation of life and the planet. Together, we can work to optimize the synergy between scientific researcher and the Society to further accelerate and advance the beneficial impacts of biophysics.”

Four Society members were also elected to serve on Council. They are:
Taviare Hawkins, Wagner College, New York
Anne Kenworthy, University of Virginia, Virgina
Anita Niedziela-Majka, Gilead Sciences, Inc., California
Tamar Schlick, New York University, New York

Each will serve a three-year term, beginning on February 13, 2024.


The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to lead an innovative global community working at the interface of the physical and life sciences, across all levels of complexity, and to foster the dissemination of that knowledge. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its Annual Meeting, publications, and outreach activities. Its 7,500 members are located throughout the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

photo of min chen

Chen Receives the CNS Outstanding Research Award

Professor Min Chen received the CNS Outstanding Research Award in recognition of her contributions to designing and developing novel biological nanopores and using them to answer a wide variety of bio-analytical and biophysical questions. Her groundbreaking work has found applications in diverse areas such as protein sensing, disease diagnostics, drug candidate screening, and sequencing of nucleic acids and proteins.

In a nanopore sensor, there are two compartments containing electrolyte solutions (K+ and Cl-) that are separated by an impermeable membrane containing a tiny, nano-sized pore through which ions flow. By measuring the ion current over time, information can be obtained about what blocks the pore, when it is blocked, and for how long. Professor Min Chen's laboratory has developed nanopores that can sense the presence of disease biomarkers, detect subtle protein motions induced by ligand/drug molecule binding, and identify the building blocks of long DNA or protein polymers.