Awards & Honors

Our faculty and staff are award winners in a number of areas in both teaching and research.

Selected National/International Awards

Scott Auerbach, Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching, 2016
Sankaran "Thai" Thayumanavan, Medal of Honor, Chemical Research Society of India, 2016
Vincent M. Rotello, Bioorganic Lectureship, Royal Society of Chemistry, (U.K.), 2016
Vincent M. Rotello, Research Corporation Transformational Research and Excellence in Education Award, 2016
Vincent M. Rotello, Australian Nanotechnology Network Traveling Fellowship, 2016
Vincent M. Rotello, Chinese Academy of Sciences, President's International Fellowship for Distinguished Researchers, 2016
Michael Maroney, AAAS Fellow, 2015
Kevin Kittilstved, NSF CAREER Award, 2015
Vincent M. Rotello, Highly Cited Researcher/Most Influential Scientific Minds, Thomson Reuters, 2015, 2014
George R. Richason, Jr., Congressional Citation for distinguished, outstanding and invaluable service, 2014
Richard S. Stein, Congressional Citation for distinguished, outstanding and invaluable service, 2014
Scott M. Auerbach, Award of Excellence in Teaching, UMass chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success, 2014
Lila M. Gierasch, Biophysical Society Fellow Award, 2014
Michael J. Maroney, University of Durham (UK) Biophysical Sciences Institute Senior Research 1+1 Fellowship, 2014
Michael D. Barnes, John Burlew Award, ACS CVS, 2014
Lila M. Gierasch, Mildred Cohn Award, ASBMB, 2014
Vincent M. Rotello, Editor-in-Chief, Bioconjugate Chemistry, 2013
Jeanne A. Hardy, Armstrong Fund for Science Award, 2013
Jeanne A. Hardy, Fullbright Scholar, Council for International Exchange, 2013
Matthew A. Holden, NSF CAREER Award, 2013
Sankaran "Thai" Thayumanavan, AAAS Fellow, 2010
Vincent M. Rotello, Langmuir Lecturer, American Chemical Society, Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry, 2010
Vincent M. Rotello, Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2010
Vincent M. Rotello, Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), 2007
Dhandapani Venkataraman, NSF CAREER Award, 2002
Richard W. Vachet, American Society for Mass Spectrometry Research Award, 2002
Igor Kaltashov, Research Corporation Innovations Award, 2001
Igor Kaltashov, American Society for Mass Spectrometry Research Award, 2000
C. Peter Lillya, AAAS Fellow, 1991

University Spotlight Scholar

Vincent Rotello, 2012
Sankaran Thayumanavan, 2010


University Distinguished Teaching Award

Sravan Surampudi, 2023
Scott Auerbach, 2017
Nathan Schnarr, 2017
Dhandapani Venkataraman, 2015
Justin Fermann, 2012
Michael Barnes, 2010
David Adams, 2003-2004
William Vining, 1999-2000
John A. Chandler, 1985-1986
Earl J. McWhorter, 1982-1983
Earl J. McWhorter, 1975-1976
George Canon, 1968-1969
George R. Richason, 1962-1963

University Samuel Conti Faculty Fellowship Award

Sankaran Thayumanavan, 2009-2010
Michael Maroney, 2005-2006
Vincent M. Rotello, 2003-2004
Lila M. Gierasch, 2002-2003
Louis A. Carpino, 1989-1990
Robert Holmes, 1986-1987

University Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award

Dhandapani Venkataraman, 2015

Outstanding Service and Engagement Award

Lynmarie Thompson, 2022
Scott Auerbach, 2017
S. Thai Thayumanavan, 2010
Lila Gierasch, 2002

College Outstanding Teacher Award

Lara Al-Hariri, 2020
Dhandapani Venkataraman (DV), 2008
Justin Fermann, 2009
Scott Auerbach, 2006
William Vining, 2003
C. Peter Lillya, 2000
Beatrice Botch, 1999
Peter Uden, 1998
Roberta Day, 1997
Bret Jackson, 1996
Paul M. Lahti, 1994

University Lilly Teaching Fellowship

Jeanne Hardy, 2010
Michael J. Maroney, 1990
Robert M. Weis, 1996
Vincent M. Rotello, 1997

University TEACHNOLOGY Award

Beatrice Botch, 2004
Stephen Hixson, 2003
C. Peter Lillya, 2000

College Outstanding Researcher Award

Min Chen, 2023
Jianhan Chen, 2021
Lila Gierasch, 2020
Richard Vachet, 2019
Michael Maroney, 2009
Paul M. Lahti, 2007
Bret Jackson, 2005
Louis A. Carpino, 2001