Department at a Glance

Founded in 1992 by the merger of the Botany and Zoology Departments.

Governed by Bylaws adopted March 20, 2017.

Located in the Morrill Science Center and occupying ~80,000 sq ft of research, teaching laboratory, and shared facility space.

Faculty: 50 (35 in tenure system, 2 as administrative appointees)

Undergraduate Majors: 1736

Graduate Students in Residence: ~61

Postdoctoral Research Associates and Research Fellows: 24

Staff: 23

External Grants: 66

External Grant Annual Income: $9.5 M